Stalking

Back when Beanie Babies were popular and folks were searching high and low and even fighting over them. My brother made the comment “it’s the hunt.” He was right and the same thing now goes for yarn and bags. A lot of other knitters and I will stalk etsy and other yarn sites for updates (when new “stuff” is available in the shops). When an unexpected update occurs, such as Wollmeise at The Loopy Ewe, we tip one another through social media. I suspect this is done after we get what we want…I know I get mine first. We hate it when we get cartjacked when someone else buys our yarn or bag out of our cart before we can complete check out. Some sellers tell when they’ll update and some update at the same time every week. If I’m stalking a particular item, I set a reminder on my phone and will be online somewhere at the appointed time pressing F5 and waiting for the upload.

So Sunday afternoons Tangerine Designs updates at 5 pm Eastern. Since I’m hunting the perfect sweater/afghan project bag and I think Casey makes it and she’s stated she’ll be putting some up in this past Sunday’s update,  I set my reminder. Normally I get off work at 4 pm on Sundays so I stalk Tangerine Designs updates while eating dinner. I usually stop for hot wings on the way home so I have to clean wing sauce off the phone or Kindle Fire whichever. This past Sunday I was late really late getting off work and was about 20 minutes into my 30 minute commute at 5 pm. So when the phone alarmed, I pulled over, stalked and ordered my bag via iPhone. I might add that once I receive a tracking number I stalk my prey across country and stalk the postal carrier until I have it in hand.Oh wait…hold on a minute I’m stalking and the carrier’s putting something in my box.Yes it’s here…it’s here!! and I believe it is perfect. It’s big enough to put the project and all the yarn for the project. It will hold a whole big girl sized sweater and has enough interfacing to stand up when set on the floor.

100_0759 100_0761

The project in the bag is my current

Just (k)nits for others…

I cast it on yesterday and it’s a throw of my own design in Plymouth Encore Worsted. I’m using US size 8 needles. I’m knitting from the center out and increasing 8 stitches every other row. I’m calling it the South Park Justin Throw.

Just (k)nits bound off…

The Angel Lace Throw for Elizabeth in Berroco Comfort using US size 7 needles is finished. I still need to wetblock it but will wait until the other three throws are finished and block all at one time.

100_0762

This project turned out well. The yarn is a bit splitty to work but the fabric is very soft and has good stitch definition.

I also bound off my third Priscilla the Persnickety Pig (aka the Princess Paige Pig). She’s made in GnomeAcres Chunky Scruffy Gnome in Unicorn Freckles on US size 5 needles.

 100_0765 100_0763
I love da pig…she’s about the cutest softie evah and even though I love her. I promise to give you a rest and knit another softie. Which brings us to…
Just (k)nits casting on…
I just finished Priscilla so tomorrow will be casting on Voodoo You Love Me in GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Do You Lurve Me colorway. I will use US size 5 needles. This is a belated birthday gift for my friend Tina.
Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.
0 Responses to “Stalking”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


