And they don’t live in trees..

Frogs I’m not talking about the ones that live in trees and herald the beginning of spring in my area. Rumor has it that the peepers as I call them have been peeping away in the last few days which is a good thing. The frogs at my house are the bad kind–the negative knitting kind. Sunday I frogged a bit of Sam the Super Frog. I also frogged the Norma throw an which will be discussed below.Sometime in the near future I’ll be frogging the front band of the Elizabeth Cardigan for re-working and a couple of sweaters that I discussed in earlier posts that I’m re-purposing.

Before I move to (k)nits, someone asked a question about my shearing day post. The question was “What do you do when you skirt a fleece?” That’s a good question and one I should have answered in the post. Skirting is removing the unusable parts of the fleece–vegetable and other organic matter and short bits that are too short for a hand spinner to use.

Just (k)nits bound off…

I finished the second Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013 sock. I knit them on US size 0 needles and used Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Pond Blue. I like the pattern and the yarn but probably should have used size US 1 needles. The socks are fairly snug so could be a smidge larger.

100_0728

Just (k)nits for others…
 

As you read in the opening paragraph I’ve frogged the Norma throw. I had to use the designer’s chart and the knitty chart and the pattern was one that was not easily remembered or memorize. This makes the process slower which was not making me a happy knitter. Since I’m trying to keep my knitting happy, I decided to change patterns. I’m using the motif from Angel Lace Shawl by Evelyn Clark in a rectangular or square throw.I cast on 162 stitches and am using US size 7 needles and Berroco Comfort.

100_0734

Just (k)nits in progress…

Sam the Super Frog has visited the frog pond a couple of times since his Sunday cast on. After a rocky start, I’ve now finished his body, the eye bumps and started on the second arm. I’m using Cascade 220 and US size 5 needles.I’m hoping he’ll be finished by Sunday.

100_0733

Tomorrow I’ll be waking up Evenstar for a couple of weeks. The plan is to work a couple of rows each day.

Just (k)nits casting on…

I’m debating whether to rework the Elizabeth Cardigan or cast on a Priscilla the Persnickety Pig. I need to finish the Elizabeth but will need a knitting in public project. Then again I can use Priscilla as a dangling carrot to motivate me to finish the Elizabeth.

Just (k)nits to be…

From GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome superwash worsted weight I got some Do Ewe Lurve Me? to make a Voodoo You Love Me softie.

100_0731

From Fibernymph Dyeworks in Heavenly I bought Warmth of Friends which was suggested by a photo of some friends taken by Laura Linneman. Since I consider Laura and a number of the folks in the photo to be friends, I thought I should have this yarn.I’ve got this queued with Laura’s My Hope pattern but may change this.

100_0732

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

2 Responses to “And they don’t live in trees..”


  1. 1 Brig February 22, 2013 at 2:06 am

    Or, the frogs from France? (Or Canada?)

  2. 2 Kim AKA NurseKimKnits February 22, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Love your socks! Great job.
    Sometimes I feel good to frog some of those projects and get my needles and yarn back……


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


