Snowy shearing

Every year in February, I go over to Rising Meadow Farm to help skirt fleeces at their shearing day. (I really go to enhance my fiber stash but don’t tell anybody.) Even though we had snow showers all morning, this year was no exception. Normally we skirt in front of the barn but were inside due to the weather. Kevin Ford who is a blade shearer shears at Rising Meadow. This year he was assisted by Kristen and Joy. Yesterday Corriedale, CVM Romeldale and Dorset ewes were sheared. I was interested in a “grey” CVM Romeldale fleece but didn’t find exactly what I wanted…maybe next year.

sheep shear

After we finished shearing, we had lunch in the farm house and listened to music from the Scottish Fiddlers. As usual a good time was had by all despite the snow.

fiddle

Just (k)nits for others

I’m moving right along with the Norma throw I’m making as a prayer shawl. I am having some difficulty with the charts. While the designer’s chart from Ravelry is easier to read printwise, her row numbers are too small for me to read and she leaves off the selvedge stitch. So I’m using a combination of the knitty.com chart and her chart. So far I’ve been able to work 2 hours a day on this piece.

100_0727

Just (k)nits in progress

I’ve finished sock 1 of the Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013. I used my US size 0 needles but probably should have used my size 1s as the fit is snug.I’ve started sock 2 but fell victim to sleep knitting last night so didn’t get much done. While preparing for a sock knitting class I taught, I discovered that, for some time now, I’ve been leaving off a step when I kitchener. I’ve wondered why my grafts were no longer invisible. Now I know.

100_0722

I needed a mindless project so cast on Sam the Super Frog using US size 5 needles and Cascade 220. I didn’t get much done as I was distracted and had too many stitches so had to frog. It will be my work in public project until the socks are finished and then I’ll finish up Sam and the Norma.

Just (k)nits casting on

Once Sam is finished, I’ll cast on a Priscilla the Persnickety Pig for a work in public project.The Norma, being a lace-type knit, is not a good work in public project.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Snowy shearing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


