Giving up

Don’t get excited…I’m Methodist and, as a Methodist and Christian, I try to give up something for Lent. In the past, I’ve given up various foods (fail), buying yarn (major fail) and bad habits (fail sometimes). This year I’ve decided to give up two hours a day for charity knits. Those who’ve been following for a while may remember that I used to do this regularly but stopped because I had too many projects going at once. I still do charity knitting but as needed rather than daily. Since charity knitting was a factor in my renewed interest in knitting, I want to try to add the two hours a day back to my schedule. At any rate, from now until at least Easter–with exception of Sundays which are not part of the 40 days–I’ll be just (k)nitting for others two hours a day.

Just (k)nits for others…

Yesterday I cast on Norma using Berroco Comfort and size US 7 needles. This prayer throw is for Elizabeth.This is a free pattern from knitty.com which is an online magazine. The last time I tried to use a Knitty pattern I had major problems with and changed to another pattern. I was beginning to be concerned about this one but am using combination of information from Knitty and the designer. So far I’ve been able to figure out what to do.

100_0721

Just (k)nits bound off…

Woohoo! I have two FOs. I bound off both the Gnarled Oak Cardigan and the Starving Musician yesterday. For the Gnarled Oak I used Dream in Color’s Everlasting DK in the Amethyst colorway and sizes US 3 and 4 needles. The yarn made beautiful fabric but was splitty (12 ply). It reminded me of Wollmeise. I used six skeins which was considerably less yarn than the pattern suggested. The yarn also bloomed (stretched) a bit when soaked which I expected as it is superwash. I made the sweater with less ease than I normally like so that once washed I wouldn’t have an oversized garment. The pattern was well written and I like the resulting garment. I still need to get buttons and have in mind some pewter buttons that we sell at the shop.

100_0717

The Starving Musician was designed by my friend, Laura Linneman. I used Universal Classic Chunky and size 10.5 US needles. The pattern was well written and is free on Ravelry.

100_0720Just (k)nits in progress…

I woke up the Through the Loops Mystery Sock 2013 KAL socks. I have about an inch of foot left on sock 1 and sock 2 is finished through the heel flap. I hope to finish this project on Sunday.I’m using Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock and US size 0 needles. I worked on this late last night so had to visit the frogpond for a while today. While fixing the mistake, I dropped a stitch that was a yarnover so wouldn’t run so I didn’t frog to repair this but was able to adjust a decrease to correct the stitch count. I had trouble finding it so I don’t think it’ll be noticed by others.

100_0719

Just (k)nits casting on…

Once the socks are finished, I’ll be casting on Sam the Superfrog in Cascade 220 and will use size US 5 needles. He’ll have a blue cape. On February 21 I’ll wake up the Evenstar for a couple of weeks and will work on softies at night.

Just (k)nits to be…

While I do have a couple of pre-orders, I didn’t receive or buy any yarn since last post.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

 

 

 

1 Response to “Giving up”



Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


