Yarn bombing that makes a difference

Last Sunday four of my knitting friends went yarn bombing. Yarn bombing is when knitters or crocheters work colorful covers for light posts and tree trunks in parks or on city streets.Someone commented that this seemed a waste of yarn that could be used to keep someone warm.My friends and I agree with this comment and their form of yarn bombing involved hanging scarves and hats from trees and playground equipment and fences and giving them to folks they met in downtown Greensboro. It’s called Chase the Chill and here’s an article about their bombing.

 

Just (k)nits bound off… the Gnarled Oak is close but not there yet.Just (k)nits in progress… speaking of the Gnarled Oak Cardigan. I’ve finished everything but the front bands.The yoke was tedious knitting and time consuming. One row of about 200 stitches took me 1.5 hours to knit because I had to make leaf points using a stitch similar to bobbles which went a bit faster because I could knit backwards. I wove ends and kitchenered the underarm stitches so tomorrow I’ll start the front bands. The color variation is a bit like a harlequin suit–one sleeve and the lower body is a different shade from the upper body and other sleeve. Also the pattern called for twice the amount of yarn used. I’ll have 4 skeins left which will be enough to make one of several DK weight shawls in my pattern library. I haven’t selected buttons yet. The purple buttons I have on hand will be too small.

100_0712 100_0713

The sweater was not at a good place for working in public so I cast on a Starving Musician in Universal Classic Chunky on US size 10.5 needles. I will be knitting in public quite a bit this week so this will hopefully be finished quickly.

100_0716

Yes I being polygamous right now. I also don’t think I can work on the Through the Loops Mystery socks at the shop. I will be finishing this project when the Gnarled Oak is finished. This is a change in plans so let’s move on to

Just (k)nits casting on… the Mr Bluejeans virtual knitalong has been postponed. Life got in the way of our starting today and, after thinking about it, I realized this is probably a good thing. I have the socks and the Elizabeth Cardigan to finish. The hat above is one I’m knitting for an acquaintance, and I have promised to knit a Sam the Superfrog and a Priscilla the Persnickety Pig and want to knit a Voodoo You Love Me. I also will have a two week stretch of working Evenstar in the afternoons. So while life is rearing its ugly head I can get these small projects finished so that I can focus on the knit along.

Just (k)nits to be… I didn’t receive any new yarn but I did stash dive for three colorways for a Color Affection shawl which I’ll make down the road.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Yarn bombing that makes a difference”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


