Going virtual

My knitting friend who’s moved to Chicago and I have planned to knit along the Mr Bluejeans. I think we originally planned to cast on in October but travel, gift knitting, moving, illness and life have caused the cast on to be postponed. We’re now almost ready. Using Google Video Chat we will be having a virtual knitalong (vkal). I used gift cards to buy a webcam and USB port and my friend sent a video tutorial on how to use Google Video Chat. Now all that remains to be done is to hook up the equipment, download the plug in, swatch and finish…

Just (k)nits in progress… the Gnarled Oak is moving right along. I’ve finished and joined both sleeves and worked about 3 inches of yoke. I’m beginning the short row shaping. Since the yoke starts with almost 400 stitches I was concerned that this may take longer than I had planned. I’m making fairly good progress so I’m still wishing for February 10 but may be closer to the 12th. I’m pretty much in non-public clothes mode Friday afternoon and Saturday till about 3 pm so that should help. This yoke stitches will be decreasing so that should allow me to work more rows but the leaf motif has cables which will require use of cable needle due to the splittiness of the yarn so that will slow progress down some. You can see in the picture that even though I alternated skeins some color variation is still evident. Dream in Color is  a hand dyed yarn so color variation is expected.

100_0709

The Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013 is still snoring away in its project bag. I suspect it will be the night time project when I work on Evenstar later in the month.

Just (k)nits casting on… Mr Bluejeans was the focus of my opening comments. I’ll be swatching with size US 7 needles tomorrow and plan to cast on Sunday afternoon (maybe). The yarn for this is Classic Elite Majestic Tweed in Cherry Pie colorway. Classic Elite’s product page calls this yarn chunky. I consider it to be aran weight.  I’m looking forward to the project. I love my Mr Greenjeans sweater. It’s comfortable and sometimes I even wear it on non-public days (yes, it’s public clothes still but I just love to wear it) I’m hoping that Bluejeans will be the same.

Just (k)nits to be… this week I received from Desert Vista Dyeworks in her Viso 75% superwash merino 25% nylon sock base the Spumoni colorway. I’m trying to not buy any yarn for a few weeks so this yarn and other yarns received in the next couple of weeks are shipments ordered in January.

100_0710

I also received some heart-shaped buttons from Tessa Ann Designs to use when making Voodoo You Love Me dolls (no they will not be finished for Valentine’s Day 2013)

Also, I’m moving around my blogging days right now trying to find two days a week that work for me. The Saturday/Tuesday thing isn’t working for me right now so I’m going to try Sunday/Thursday for a while (maybe a short while) to see how that works. So…

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

//

0 Responses to “Going virtual”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


