What’s up with this?

What’s up with all the animals in knitted sweaters? I mean my dog is cold natured and I’ve thought about buying her a sweater. Buying vs knitting because I know she’ll chew it up which will make me more angry if I’ve bothered to knit it. I’m not buying one because I don’t think it would healthy for her to chew up a sweater.  But last week on Facebook…

First AboutScotland.com posted a picture of ponies in Fair Isle sweaters. I’m struggling to knit a stranded sweater for me for about 5 years now and am very sure I’m not knitting a pony-size one. Well, maybe I am but I’m not accepting that I’m that big.

ponies in sweaters

Then later in the week Blair Butterfield posted a picture of chickens in sweaters. I might knit them but I’m helping with dressing the chickens unless they’re cooked and I’m cooking dressing which I don’t really like so that won’t happen either.

chickens in sweaters

Then Filatura di Crosa posted a picture of a sheep in a nice Aran turtleneck with the caption “Oh, am I being redundant?” Answer–yes.Here again knitting an Aran sweater is a lot of work and I’m not knitting one for anyone but me! I’ll admit I’m bigger than this sheep maybe.

sheep in sweater

All these pictures gave me an idea of why a wild tom turkey who lives near my sister-in-law takes exception to me and another knitting friend getting out of our cars and entering her house. He flaps and fusses and follows us when we arrive. I think he’s heard that the trend for farm animals is sweaters and, even though he doesn’t live on a farm, he wants a sweater. My response is “Mr Turkey, I don’t think I’m going to knit you a sweater but, if I do, someone else will have to dress you.”

I don’t know what’s up with the (k)nits for animals but here’s the report on my (k)nits.

Just (k)nits bound off… still none because I’m still working on

Just (k)nits in progress… I’m making good progress on the Gnarled Oak Cardigan. I’m averaging about 10 rows a day on this and have worked about 14 inches. The body and probably one sleeve will be finished by next post.

100_0705

Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL is still hibernating. I have to say I struggled with castonitis a bit because I want to cast on a softie/toy but did not cast on. The softie will be

Just (k)nits casting on… but first I plan to knit Mr Bluejeans which I’d planned to knit along with my friend who moved to Chicago. Hopefully we’ll be able to knit along via Skype.

The mail carrier got some rest the last few days so there are no

Just (k)nits to be

Till next time no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “What’s up with this?”


  1. 1 Diane January 30, 2013 at 3:23 am

    I saw these horses on TV and even though very cute – no way I would knit that much for a horse! Maybe it was a group effort.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


