Feelin’ the love

Just (k)nits in progress… yes, I jumped over Just (k)nits bound off because I just cast on a sweater so I won’t be binding off for a few weeks. I cast on Gnarled Oak Cardigan 0on Sunday and am trying to knit at least 10 rows per day. I’m knitting this from Dream in Color Everlasting DK and the stitch definition and dyeing are reminiscent of Wollmeise. Also like Wollmeise, the yarn’s splitty which makes it a bit mean to work. The beauty of the fabric is totally worth it, and I’m totally feelin’ the love for this project.

I’m using US size 4 needles. I debated needle and sweater size for several days. The pattern suggests US size 5 needles but my gauge was slightly big so I swatched with US size 4 needles which also yielded a slightly bigger than the pattern required. My preferred sweater size was between two pattern sizes so I decided to use the smaller one. Even so I was concerned because I knew that my actual gauge would be larger than the swatch which might be too big. I’ve knit several inches of the sweater and am beginning to feel comfortable that the size will be good.

100_0700

I’m feelin’ the love for this sweater so much that I’ve decided to try to finish it by Super Bowl Sunday (it’s a color thing) so I won’t work clues 4 and 5 of the Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013 until the sweater is finish.I’m really not a football fan but purple just seems like an appropriate Super Bowl color this year. I also may wait until Super Bowl Sunday to start my seven-day Evenstar “stretch.” I love the sock project and could do as I did on the first 3 clues and work it with other projects but decided I WANT to focus on the sweater and that’s what 2013 is all about.

Just (k)nits casting on…next up after the Gnarled Oak is another Sam the Super Frog and Mr Bluejeans. I’ll talk about the more when I get closer to casting on.

Just (k)nits later… GnomeAcres had an update so I had to have some Bertie Bott’s and some Mardi Gras (top) in Worsted to make softies down the road. I suspect I’ll receive another Tempted Pin-Up Grrls club shipment before next post.

100_0698

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Feelin’ the love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


