What’s in a name?

What’s in a name? Where did southparknitter (and it’s south park knitter) come from? Several years ago I attended The Loopy Ewe’s Spring Fling.I befriended knitters from all over the world there. My real nickname is Timmie like the character on the television show “South Park” which I’ve never watched. Every time I entered the knitting lounge my friends would in group say “Timmeh” in a loud voice. I’d been looking for a knitting related user name (I’ve changed my user name on Ravelry so much that I can’t change it again) so I became southparknitter. It fits…my elementary and high schools are on South Park Drive in my hometown. You’ll notice that my blog address has katzendog which was an earlier user name.

In December 2011 I changed the blog title because I was on a stash reducing quest that I don’t even discuss anymore. And I’m pretty sure that any stash reduction has been reverse stash reduction (expansion).  The blog has changed over the last year and so I think it needs a new name so I’m now changing it to South Park (K)nits. The URL will remain the same.

I finished clue 2 of Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013. I have some very obvious laddering. I’m guessing that this is due to the reverse stockinette at the needle changes. I’m hoping that wet blocking will help this. I visited the frog pond once and, after discovering a dropped stitch, thought I’d have to visit a second time. I was able to pick up the stitch and continue. I will work clue 3 over the weekend.

After finishing clue 2, I cast on a second Crosswords at the Coffee Shop in Malabrigo Rios Indiecita colorway on US size 5 needles. This one is for a cancer victim who is estranged from her family and staying with my friends. I’ve finished the first lace repeat and hope to finish the lace work tomorrow so that I can work the garter section on Thursday at church knitting and at the shop. I hope to finish it by Friday.

100_0692

I will cast on a sweater when the shawl is finished–probably Gnarled Oak Cardigan in Dream in Color Everlasting DK in a purple colorway (can’t remember the name).

Since July, I’ve been stalking Fibernymph Dyeworks for a skein of Soft Kitty on Bedazzled base. It’s here…soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur….

100_0691

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “What’s in a name?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


