2013 Year of Monogamous Random Knitting

Mid-December I began to give thought to knitting goals for 2013. About that time, knitting folks began to offer up various plans for 2013–knit 13 sweaters, knit 12 self-striping socks, knit 12 socks and on and on. I considered some of these.  Setting queue reduction goals is pointless because I’m a yarnaholic who thinks goals should be attainable. I also thought about knitting a given number of projects.I considered several other things too but just wasn’t feeling any of them.So after giving it much thought, I’ve decided to proclaim 2013 the year of monogamous random knitting.

For the last half of 2012 I’ve been working at doing away with the time management and goal/deadline setting that was a part of my work life for many years. About mid-year I found that I was stressing over failing to meet self-imposed knitting deadlines. I had to remind myself that knitting is my hobby not my job. I still set deadlines but adjust them as necessary and make sure I have plenty of time to finish pieces with deadlines and knit alongs before I cast on.

I’m also trying to remain monogamous with an occasional bigamous knit. I’ve learned that my sense of achievement comes from finishing an object. I’ve noticed that going long periods of time without a finished object because I’m knitting 3 or 4 pieces brings on the castonitis which worsens the problem

So  I’ve decided not to set any goals for 2013 other than to try to knit monogamously and to knit from queue as much as possible and use a random number generator to determine which project to knit. My goal for 2013 is to try to move away from the-time-managing-goal-setting-deadline-oriented me toward a let’s-just-knit-and-have-fun me and  just knit.

I had hoped to finish the Girl from Nantucket Mitts today but mitt 1 had to be frogged because it was too long and getting all the stitches back on the needles took a while. Debit and I managed to pull a needle out of mitt 2 this afternoon and I had a stitch that didn’t get back on the needles and that took a while to repair. I will finish the ribbing and bind off both mitts tonight and work the thumbs tomorrow.

100_0671

I will be participating in Through the Loops Mystery Sock KAL 2013 which starts January 1. I’m not sure that I’ll knit the clues as received but am going to try. I’ll look at the clues and decide whether I want to knit now or later. I have a couple of prayer shawls and Sam the Super Frog that need to be finished in the next few weeks and will be working on Evenstar for the next seven days.

Just a bit of temptation to end the year I received Russian Fairy Tale (left) from Fireweek Fibers (Alaskan Nancy) and my Wooly Wonka Heroines Accessory Kit came today. The kit is a shawl from Judy Marples called East Gable. The yarn is organic merino and the color is not one that I wear often so this may be gifted to someone down the road.

100_0674

I hope all of you have a happy and prosperous new year. To my knitting pals, I hope that 2013 has no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

3 Responses to “2013 Year of Monogamous Random Knitting”


  1. 1 paulineos January 1, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Good luck with monogamy! An interesting concept, but it only works for me with regard to men…


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


