Peppermint Puffs

It’s the weekend before Christmas and I’m knitting away trying to finish up my Christmas knits. I’ve finished the Candy Cane Sweet Tomato Heel socks. I’m pleased with how they turned out. I used Judy’s Magic Cast On and increased to 66 stitches and used Cat Bordhi’s Sweet Tomato Heel. I like this technique as the math is simpler so I can make basic socks in all sizes without a whole lot of thought.The yarn is GnomeAcres Sparkle Gnome in Candy Cane and needles were US size 0.

100_0657

I’ve made more seven more Owl Puffs and have a few more to make. One puff is GnomeAcres Witches Brew and I found some Cascade 220 left over from felt clogs I made a couple of years ago. I’m using this yarn and size US 5 needles and will save whole skeins of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted that I’d planned to use to make larger softies. I also found enough pink yarn to make Priscilla the Persnickety Pig. I love this little toy and can’t wait to make one.

100_0660

Once the Christmas knits are finished, I plan to knit Girl from Nantucket mitts that are the Tempted Yarns Pin Up Girls Club selection for November. Then have some charity knits to do.

Temptations this week come from GnomeAcres Hobbit (bottom) in Lace. Also I bought Clarice and Rudolph (middle) from Another Crafty Girl in Strong Sock, and from Fibernymph Dyeworks The Elves Were in the Eggnog (top).

100_0661 100_0663 100_0662

Since Tuesday is Christmas, I will not blog again until Friday when I’ll report on the rest of the Christmas knits and share my fiber plans for 2013.

I wish you all a merry Christmas.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Peppermint Puffs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


