A bit of whimsy

I’ve really enjoyed knitting Owl Puffs. I probably have a few local knitting friends who are giggling at that statement. I’ve just recently gotten into toy or softie knitting. In the past when others talked about knitting or crocheting toys, my response would be NEVAH!!! Never say NEVAH!!I’ve accumulated quite a few patterns, buy eyes everytime I go into a craft store.. I’m even stalking yarn to make Priscilla the Persnickety Pig. Of course, I don’t have the right size for the owl puffs and ordered some so I wouldn’t have to go to a craft store this close to Christmas. Here are the four I’ve finished. The red and green ones are stocking leftovers and the variegated ones are Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Turtle Rodeo. When I gifted the owls this afternoon, the recipient asked what they did. My response was I wanted to include something handknit (and these are quickly worked) but the real answer is that they appeal to the child in me and that, like everyone else, I just need a bit of whimsy sometimes. The toys are whimsical and fun. I think adults like toys as much as kids. Don’t believe me? Watch them crawl around on the floor and play on Christmas morning.

100_0644

Meh!!! That’s how I’m feeling about my Candy Cane Skew Socks right now. I’m not overjoyed with them. As a matter of fact, I’ve decided to frog them and knit a pair of Sweet Tomato Heel socks. Let me say that I don’t have a problem with the yarn or the pattern/ The Skew socks just don’t look like I envisioned them. As you can see from the pictures I tried on the right one and am concerned it’s a bit short. I was knitting them as a part of Knitabulls and GnomeAcres joint holiday kal and have plenty of time to work a pair of plain vanillas.

100_0646 100_0647 100_0645

Carryover temptations from Saturday are three skeins of Malabrigo Rios in Indiecita that I’ll be using to knit Crosswords at the Coffee Shop as prayer shawls for a couple of cancer patients. I will probably start these when the socks are finished.

100_0649

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “A bit of whimsy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


