It’s a secret

It’s that time of year when knitters do secret knitting. I’m secret knitting a Christmas stocking for my great-nephew. When I asked my sister-in-law to pick out a stocking, I told her if she wanted to be surprised to pick out several and she did. So I won’t be posting pictures until after Christmas. This kit also came from Elegant Heirlooms. I about 1/3 finished with the cuff of the stocking. I hope to finish the intarsia part of the stocking before I start working on the Evenstar Saturday.

I have to knit in public tomorrow for a while so plan to cast on Skew Socks in GnomeAcres Sparkle sock in Candy Cane colorway.It will hibernate for a few days until I finish the secret stocking.

I did finish the Witchy Socks last night. These are made from Dancing Dog Dyeworks Twist Sock in Witch’s Brew colorway. I used WendyKnits Basic Toe-up with Slip Stitch Heel.

Today was a sad day for many folks in the knitting community. We awakened to the news that Karrie Steinmetz (knitpurlgirl) who was a podcaster had passed away. She was young in her 30s so it’s a shock to all. Folks that young aren’t supposed to die. Sometime in the last month knitpurlgirl started RAP (random act of pattern) Tuesday. On Tuesday, knitters would gift patterns to others. I received one a couple of weeks ago and it made my day.I didin’t listen to knitpurlgirl’s podcast and didn’t really know her but she touched many in our community. I send my condolences and positive vibes to her family, friends and fans.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

1 Response to “It’s a secret”


  1. 1 Diane November 28, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    I hadn’t heard that about knitpurlgirl. I am so sorry to hear it. I don’t listen to her podcast but occasionally read her blog. Wonder what happened?

    Love the socks!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


