Thankful for…

It’s Thanksgiving Eve here in the US. All month long folks have been daily listing things for which they’re thankful on Facebook and Plurk. I’ve been thinking about this. I’m thankful for my families. Yes…plural. I have my blood family, my church family, my “hangout” family, my work family and my knitting families. First and foremost I am thankful my blood family (and my in-laws) , but this is a mostly knitting blog so I’m going to tell you about one of my knitting families. I have several of those too. I have  my Gate City Yarns family and a mostly online family and my Danville KTog family.

On Mondays for almost 5 years now, I’ve driven to Danville VA (about 20 miles) to knit with my KTog knitting “family”. Like most small groups who meet on a regular basis for a period of time, we’ve bonded like a family. Like a family, we’ve shared happy and sad. Some of us have moved to other cities and new members have joined over the five years. We always have fun to the point that most of us have to knit mindless pieces that require no counting. We did have one member who could knit lace in our presence without a frogpond visit the next day. She has two small children and I’m convinced that they prepared her for knitting in group.

A couple of the members who’ve moved away still have family in the area and return once or twice a year. When they come, we usually go out to dinner then go to Starbucks to knit. Even the baristas at Starbucks and other regular customers are like extended family.We also have show and tell on a regular basis and participated in a couple of mystery knitalongs together.Most importantly we care about one another.I’m thankful that I have all my families.

Now on to my knitting progress this week, I’ve been blogging on Tuesday but decided to post on Wednesday so I could post a picture of the Antler Cardigan as a Faux Finished Object. I still have to block and sew on buttons. I was a bit concerned about gauge on this one. I checked gauge on the sleeve and was on target but on the body my gauge was a bit bigger. I was concerned that the sweater would be too big but it’s just right. The yarn is Cascade 220 and needles were US size 6 and 8 needles. I used my new Chiao Goo Twist Interchangeables. I LOVE THESE NEEDLES.

I’ve awakened the second Witchy Sock and hope to finish it by November 26. Probably I’ll cast on the Down the Chimney stocking on Saturday since I’ll be at Gate City Yarns and the Witchy Socks are contraband yarn (yarn that wasn’t purchased at Gate City).

Thanksgiving Day will be a pajama day at my house. I sometimes go to a movie but have decided to stay home and watch Christmas movies, maybe assemble another sweater and knit.

To all my US friends, have a happy Thanksgiving!

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

2 Responses to “Thankful for…”


  1. 1 Diane November 22, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving Timmie! Love the sweater!

  2. 2 Robin November 24, 2012 at 5:38 am

    Little did I know when Ktog started, it would continue without me. I so enjoyed my visit with the “family” and our dinner together last Monday when I was in town for the holiday. And, wanted to tell you — these ChiaoGoo Interchangeables ROCK!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


