FO HO HO

Fore! is off the needles and awaiting blocking and embellishment and seaming. This stocking was a bit more fiddly than the first as I was working with more colors at one time, and, due to small areas, was unable to “weave” ends as I worked.Eventually the ends began to get in the way a bit so when I got to an area with only a couple of colors I stopped and wove ends for an hour and a half. Since I didn’t like my duplicate stitching on the first stocking, I’m knitting some areas that I probably should have stitched. Also Santa’s beard is angora which adds to the magic of the stocking but is not my favorite fiber to work.(Another argument against the purchase of an angora bunny.)When I work with or wear angora (not), I always feel like it’s shedding on everything. Of course, the angora could be good cover for the little white Debit Dog hairs that get on everything too.I’m hoping to finish this stocking by Monday and don’t foresee any problem with that.Again the stocking was made from a kit from Elegant Heirlooms. I have to give a shout-out to these folks. The kits have everything except needles and bobbins and have plenty of yarn to finish the project. The instructions are well-written and price is very reasonable. I’ve ordered more for wedding gifts and will make a couple of more for Christmas 2013 gifts.The kits are available at Gate City Yarns.

My button gal had these magical Wizard of Oz buttons which I think will look exceptional on my Antler Cardigan which I woke up this afternoon. (I promise I’ll use the cardinal ones on something.)Since I hope to have the antler finished by November 25  so I can wear it to a Christmas party on December 3, I may have to use the cardinals if the Oz ones don’t arrive before I get to button bands. I only have 6 cardinal buttons and ordered 7 Oz ones.


And a bit of yarn enabling, here’s Oktoberfest (right) and Jacarandas Down Under from Desert Vista Dyeworks. Susan the dyer takes pre-orders so you have to wait a bit and usually her colorways can be purchased as self-striping, color change, or variegated. Both of these are color change and will be used for shawls.She introduces monthly featured colorways around the 20th of each month.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “FO HO HO”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


