Lacework and monsters and beads oh my!!!

I worked my 36 rows of Evenstar for October. I’m using Wollmeise Lace-Garn and size 3 US needles. Both the pattern and yarn on this project are a joy to work so I’m enjoying this piece. Even when I drop stitches, repairs are easy. I’ve finished through row 48 of  chart 2 and have stowed this piece away until November 1.

I finished the Rosy Cardigan. I used Millamia and sizes 3 US and 2.75 mm needles. I used Ann Norling Kid’s Top Down Raglan pattern for this. I used the 3.5 stitches per inch size 6 child’s pattern with yarn and needles that gauged at 6 stitches per inch. My center back length is about 8 inches and sleeves from underarm to wrist are 6 inches.  To match the Aviatrix hat, I knitted a wrong side row every 10 rows.

I cast on Ruby the Lovable Huggable Monster in GnomeAcres Worsted in Witches’ Brew as a part of the Knitabulls and Retro Lemon Studios October KALs. I’m using size 5 US needles.

I also woke up the Trapeze Shawl. The beaded ruffle on this piece is quite tedious. I worked a single row yesterday which took 2.5 hours. This afternoon I did work 2    rows. This is not a piece that I can work in the evening. In hind sight, between all the trouble I had getting beads that matched my yarn and the tedium of the beading, I’m regretting using the beads on this piece. This piece has way way too many beads for this old girl. Actually it’s not the quantity of the beads but how the designer used them. I’m pretty sure that I won’t be participating in any more mystery KALs unless I know and love the designer. I’m sure this designer is loved by others but not me. And, yes, I could frog and re-purpose but I’m too close to the end.I suspect that this piece will be on the needles for another 13 or 14 days.

I also cast on and frogged Mr Bluejeans in Majestic Tweed in Cherry Pie on size 8 US needles. I swatched but as usual my gauge tends to be bigger when I actually knit a piece. After thinking on it, I’ve decided to drop down a needle size. I considered using size 8s and knitting a smaller size but, after doing the math, am concerned this will have too much ease. I’ll cast on again probably on Saturday.

The postal service brought some pretties from Another Crafty Girl in her Strong Sock. These are colorways named for and based on characters from Coraline. This one is Wybie

and this one is Mr Bobinski

I’m hoping to stop enhancing stash till at least the first of November. I have Halloween and Christmas yarn and self-striping yarn en route but I need to diet a smidge.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

1 Response to “Lacework and monsters and beads oh my!!!”


  1. 1 Trish October 10, 2012 at 12:38 am

    LOVE the lace!!! I just stared my first lace shawl, hope it comes out as great as yours looks 🙂


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


