A little bit of knitting and a whole lot of mail

Seems like I didn’t do much knitting this week but, looking back on it, I’ve done more than I thought. Since Monday I’ve worked six rows of Evenstar every day except Friday. I’ve had a couple of days when I had to “fix” mistakes. Fortunately so far I’ve avoided the frog pond. The knitting on this pattern is easy to read so mistakes are easy to find and fix without frogging. I’m using markers and counting every other row. I didn’t take a picture but will either slip the stitches on waste yarn or another needle and take a picture when this month’s goal is reached.

I finished the Simply Riveting Scarf made from my handspun yarn from Cocoa the Corriedale of Rising Meadow Farm. I used Size US 8 needles and added one pattern repeat. I’m very pleased with this piece. This is undyed wool. I think the color is beautiful.

While I wasn’t doing much knitting, I was stalking the postal carrier. I’m not very good at yarn diets. The mailbox had yarn about every day this week. Even though I don’t have projects for some of this,it’s all sock yarn which doesn’t count as stash. I already posted that I ordered Tonk (top)s colorway from GnomeAcres in Sparkly yarn and, of course, it couldn’t ride in envelope by itself so I threw some Gnomey Night (bottom) in the cart as well. I don’t have projects for these but I’m pretty sure that Gnomey Night will be a shawlette of some sort.

I also ordered the Dream Club October Selection. This is a new 75/25 wool/silk  fingering weight yarn base for them. The pattern is not something I’ll wear so this yarn will be Ishbel.

I also received my Shakespeare in Lace Accessory Club shipment which is Raleigh Socks designed by Kirsten Kapur and the yarn is Freya 100% Superwash BFL as you can see is a tobacco brown color which is pretty appropriate given the name of the socks.

I also ordered from Ethereal Fibers a skein of Shower Time, Hand Fun. Yes you read that right. She uses “naughty” auto-corrects for her color names. As she says in her descriptions “My autocorrect series of yarn is based upon the popular and hysterical phenomenon of autocorrect misfirings that sometimes occur with today’s smart phones. They are generally adult, and sometimes crude or vulgar, in nature – that is what makes them so hilarious! It is not my intention to offend anybody, and I hope these can be taken in the spirit they are intended! :)”This yarn will be a Ruby Slippers Shawlette.

I’ve also ordered some self-striping yarn and some holiday yarns (Halloween and Christmas) and some yarn named for characters in Coraline. I’m going to try not to order anything else this week.The Halloween and Christmas yarns are for knitalongs.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “A little bit of knitting and a whole lot of mail”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


