I’m your pushergirl

I’m your mama, I’m you daddy,

I’m that knitta on Elm Street

I’m your doctor when in need

Want some yarn want some fibre

You know me , I’m your friend,

Your main girl, thick and thin,

I’m your pushergirl

I’m your pushergirl

(thanks Curtis Mayfield for letting me borrow your lyrics)

As you know,I work on Sunday afternoons at Gate City Yarns. The monies I earn there are generally spent there because one of my main purposes for working is to support my fiber addiction. It works like any other addiction…you start pushing to support your habit except I’m selling legal addictives. TNNA was in June, and my dealer (aka owner of  Gate City Yarns) ventured to Ohio to check out the new lines of addictives. They start arriving at the shop mid-August. So each week when I go to work, I “jones” over some new yarn that I need to “fix.”I think I’m going to have a long hard Fall.

Last weekend we had a trunk show featuring Classic Elite Majestic Tweed, I’ve already posted about that downfall. Then I received a forwarded shipping notice that Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere would arrive Thursday.(Yes, my “dealer” knows my weaknesses.)My “dealer’ also sent information about ChiaoGoo Twist interchangeable needles. (My set’s now been ordered.)  Friday from one of my fellow “pushers” and at the instigation of my “dealer” I received a text picture of a colorway of the Smooshy.My response was that I’d already bought yarn for Gnarled Oak, ordered Majestic Tweed and ChiaoGoo Twist set and needed to “push” until Christmas to pay for that.

Saturday I went over to hang out and help with our annual sale and eat cake and cheesecake and cupcakes and knit.When I got home I started “jonesing” for 3 skeins of It’s a Sparkler colorway to knit this. Sunday I worked and “jonesed” some more.I tried to “push” at least one skein of it to  a customer so only two would be left (not enough for project).I made it through my shift without taking the yarn home in my bag mainly because it rained and I had cupcakes to take home.I’m hoping that one of the other “pushers” will sell at least one skein so I don’t “fix” 3 skeins of Smooshy with Cashmere.

Rockefeller is now a finished object.This is made from Gale’s Arts Sinful in SSK colorway and Tempted Yarns Lil Luxe Grrl in Lost on US size 2 needles. I loved the design and am okay with my color choice but this piece would have looked better in two high contrast solids or semi-solids. The “Lost” colorway stripes were lost in the busyness of the variegation of the SSK.

I went to Danville KTog and worked on Rosy Aviatrix.I also cast on one of the Wolfpack Poppy hats but will be frogging as I think I need to make a smaller size for a child. Since Rosy Aviatrix is the work in public project. I’ll wait and post a picture when it’s a FO.

I worked on the Trapeze KAL which I’m knitting with Three Ewes Twisted in Fiber Lamb Silk Lace in Sangria colorway on size 4 US needles. I’m still debating what color beads to use. I have red, and the yarn is a cherry red so it tends to look pink in some lights. I did swatch with the beads last night using the dental floss method for bead application. The “silver” beads look good and the verdict is still out on the red. They weren’t clearly visible which is good but once blocked they will be more visible. I have some time to decide and will shop for beads locally this weekend.

The Blueberry Yum is still in hibernation. The original plan was to wake it up after knit night but I decided to knit a few more rows of Trapeze. This would allow me to finish clue 1 tonight. Then I can focus on Blueberry Yum.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

 

0 Responses to “I’m your pushergirl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


