When all else fails

When all else fails read the instructions or the information sent from the designer. When I signed up for the Trapeze Mystery KAL, Nelkin Designs sent an information file. I opened the file, glanced at the first page, decided I’d already read all that and closed it. Last week at Danville KTog one of my fellow KToggers said she’d signed up for this KAL also and was talking about bead and yarn selection. I didn’t recall reading this information and asked where she was reading it. Her response was “the file received at sign-up”–the file that I’d scanned and in fact didn’t even remember reading until reminded. So if I’m beading which I’d planned, I need to have fingering weight yarn (I have lace weight) and I need two colors of beads (I have one). OOPS!!! I’ve decided that changing yarns would require stash enhancement. NOT! I know knitters who’ve beaded lace weight yarn with more beads than required for this piece. So I’m still debating the beading. I need to order beads for another project so I did  order a second color.The yarn I’ll be using for the Trapeze is Lamb Silk Lace from Three Ewes Twisted in Fiber in Sangria colorway which looks pinkish in the picture but is red. I’m using red and grey beads.

In December 2011 I queued and ordered green yarn for Gnarled Oak Cardigan which I planned to use as a Christmas sweater. The yarn I ordered isn’t available and I’ve queued two other “Christmas” green sweaters. I’ve been trying to decide on another yarn for a while and decided to use Verde Collection Chesapeake. I picked the Oxford colorway. The website states that this is worsted weight but I think it looks more DK weight. Since it has cotton content and my gauge working with cotton, I did swatch the yarn before I purchased the yarn.  I was able to get suggested gauge (6 stitches per inch) by dropping from size 6 US as suggested to size 3 US (which gauged a quarter stitch less per inch). Since the size that I’ve picked has slightly less ease than I’d like. I’m okay with this variation in gauge. I won’t be casting this sweater on for a while

.

I’m also planning to make a baby sweater to match the Rosy Aviatrix which will be a shop sample.

I’ve finished the right wing and 5 pattern repeats of the left wing of the Rockefeller.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “When all else fails”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


