Greatness…

Since we knitters have been bashed a bit by the sports world lately, I’ve really enjoyed the Nike commercial which says “Greatness is wherever someone is trying to find it.” So whatever your craft/skill, wherever you are, find your greatness. It can be and is found other places besides an athletic field.

Although I didn’t think I would, I’m  watching a good deal of the Olympic Games. I forget that the summer games aren’t just track and field events. I do enjoy aquatics and gymnastics and watched volleyball and beach volleyball. I also watched some of the cycling and a soccer match. I know nothing about either of these. I also watched the opening ceremony which I thought was well done.I’m even DVRing so I can see it all and also so I can fast forward through commercials and some of the commentary. While I’m enjoying the games, sometimes I want to tell the commentators and reporters to shut up! Also I think it bad form to ask a young adult hoping for a medal how it feels to finish fourth right after the event. Basically the answer to that question is it sucks. These people are young and have worked a lifetime to win a medal and losing it hurts. Finishing fourth might okay at another event but not at the Olympics.

So my Olympic knitting is Go Wolfpack Tweed Blanket. I’ve got 7 rows and the i-cord bind off to go.  Unless I have some major problem, I should be able to finish in time to block both blankets over this coming weekend.

I haven’t worked on the Rockefeller KAL since Saturday. I had work in public time yesterday and Sunday so worked on the Elizabeth collar. I also will have work in public time this evening so will again work on Elizabeth. Working in public is using up my Rockefeller time Once the blanket is finished, I’ll play catch up. Once the Rockefeller is on track, I’ll finish the Elizabeth (mainly because I’m “over it”).

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Greatness…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


