Olympic Knitting?

Chatter on knitting social media this week has been questions about what we’re knitting during the Olympics.  Many knitters have special projects that they work while watching the games. The last winter games I had a special “mindless” knit that would allow me to watch the games and not lose my place when awestruck by the abilities of the athletes.Not to denigrate (sorry, I just had to use that word) the abilities of the summer olympians, I’m just not into the summer games. I just prefer the winter games. So I don’t really have a special project. When I do watch, I can work on the front bands of the Elizabeth Cardigan or on the Go Wolfpack Blanket. Both of those pieces are fairly mindless.

Speaking of the Go Wolfpack Tweed Blanket,  I’ve finished the garter ridge section and have started to pick up and knit the edging stitches. I’m to the point where getting a photo that shows progress is difficult so I don’t have a photo of this.

I realized while writing my last post that Wollmeise Sabrina is very similar in color to another shawl I have so I decided to switch colorways and use Amethyst Light for the Evenstar and Sabrina for another Featherweight. This will work well because I’m making another cardigan from some Malabrigo Lace that is similar to Amethyst.

I received clue 3 of the Rockefeller KAL and have finished clue 2 and worked 4 rows of clue 3. I should be able to work 4 rows of the this each day and finish clue 3 before clue 4 is released and finish the Go Wolfpack by end of week also. Of course, this is subject to my ability to work both pieces without tinking or visiting the frog pond.

Since it’s almost time for the opening ceremony of the games, till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Olympic Knitting?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


