Reverse Knitting

Last post I talked about backwards knitting which is what left-handed knitting is called when right-handed knitters do it. Today I want to talk about reverse knitting…frogging…ripping it back. The process by which you have less knitting finished at the end of a day than you did at the beginning.

Monday night I discovered that Night at the Gruene (aka Blueberry Yum) was twisted when I joined in the round. My capelet which I refuse to call a poncho (visions of Martha Stewart dance in my head) looked like a moebius. The piece has a 320 stitch cast-on and calls for 32″ needles. Keeping the stitches from twisting was nigh on to impossible. So I frogged  and cast on again using a 60″ needle, joined in the round and knit a row or two. The stitches didn’t look twisted (they didn’t look twisted the first time either) so I’ve transferred back to the 32″ needles. Visiting the frog pond on Monday or Tuesday isn’t unusual here but usually it’s because I’ve tried to knit a complex piece at Danville KTOG. Not the case this time and I had less  finished fabric on the needles at bedtime hence reverse knitting.

Tuesday I worked another pattern repeat of Clemson Tweed Baby Blanket.

Two more repeats and the I-Cord bind off are all that remain on this one. So Sunday I hope to cast on the NC State version. Go Wolfpack!!!

I also worked a couple of inches of the Elizabeth Cardigan front bands. I didn’t photograph this because pictures don’t really show progress very well.

I also received clue D of ths Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl and worked about six rows of this clue before sleep-knitting commenced (fortunately on a wrong side row). I napped my way through row six and put it back in my project bag and went to bed.

The Blueberry Yum (so called because the main colorway is Blueberry and the yarn is yummy) hibernated Tuesday. I’ll be visiting Rising Meadow Farm on Wednesday evening so it will probably hibernate until Thursday at least.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Reverse Knitting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


