Fiber Hangover

I started this post Monday morning but had a severe fiber hangover from which I finally recovered today (Wednesday). A normal fiber hangover requires about 24 hours recovery time so I’d have to say that I had a large time at SSK (Super Summer Knitogether)! About 140 knitters and spinners met at Scarritt-Bennett Center to knit and spin together for four days. My main purpose for attending was to see friends that I hadn’t seen in three years. A group of us bonded at The Loopy Ewe’s Spring Flng in 2008, and I haven’t seen any of them for three years. This group is responsible for my Ravelry ID southparknitter. Whenever I entered the room they’d yell “Timmeh!” like the character Timmy in South Park. Since my elementary and high schools are located on South Park Drive, I thought southparknitter was a good fit and adopted that name.

Aside from record high temperatures in Nashville between 105 and 110 every day and  a bit of lost momentum on Friday and Saturday, the event was wonderful. I took two classes, had SEX (stash enhancement with no dwarves involved) and enjoyed the company of fiber friends new and old. Since I’ve a lot to post about the event, I’ll break it up into two or three posts.

I didn’t take any pictures. I planned to take pictures Friday evening and Saturday but we had to move from the Great Hall for market set-up on Friday at noon and were scattered in about 5 different areas in Laskey Hall. This caused the event to lose a bit of momentum but we still had fun.Hopefully, this will be remedied next time.This is a flickr set set up by froggymonkey.

In this post I’ll share my loot–both my goodie bag and my purchases.The Knit Girllls did a wonderful job with the goodie bags. I didn’t photograph everything but I can use everything in the bag. Here’s a picture of the whole haul except the monster kit. The bag in the top left corner and the smaller zipper bag were in our goodie bags.  The three larger bags are sweater size bags that I bought from Erin.Lane Bags.

They gave us a choice of fiber or yarn. Since I don’t spin a lot of dyed fiber, I got yarn. Gale’s Art dyed this yarn and it is the  hand paint in the middle.The other 3 skeins in this picture are Tempted’s Lil’ Luxe Grrl. I plan to use the two darker greys  as frame for Stephen West Rockefeller Knitalong. The SSK colorway Sinful will be the B color for this. The pattern calls for 400 yards of color A so I had to buy 2 skeins. I’ll use the leftover yarn with the lighter color to knit LaLa Knits By the Sea. The lighter grey will segue into the darker. All of this yarn is merino,cashmere, and nylon which is YUMMY!

This yarn is fingering weight Miss Babs Northumbria BFL which I’ll use to knit Waiting Cardi.

Here is my SSK tee-shirt.

And my monster kit. In the past I haven’t been interested in knitting toys but Rebecca Danger was one of the teachers at SSK and I found her and her monsters delightful. I think we’ve created a monster.

Another reason I didn’t post till today was I wanted to finish my Wingspan which I started at SSK. I plan to knit another one later and this one is knit on size 4 US needles in Lang Jawoll Magic Degrade which was not my favorite yarn to work with and probably will not be used again here.

I also finished WendyKnits Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl clue B. This picture has two rows of clue C. Sorry it’s fuzzy and I’m too lazy to go take another one. I’ll try again next post.

I’m still working on the Clemson Baby Tweed Throw which hibernated while I was away. I hope to finish Clue C of the SSMS and a weaving project and then finish the border on it.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Fiber Hangover”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


