Safe SEX

To my non-knitter friends, SEX here doesn’t mean what you’re thinking. To knitters SEX is Stash Enhancement Expedition and, when we go on knitting vacations (retreats, fiber festivals), we always have SEX. Since I’m preparing for a knitting vacation, I thought I’d remind myself of some ways to have safe SEX (in other words how to shop smart). First, make a list of what you need or want before you leave home.(Yes in my stash room is evidence that I do impulse buy.) Second, budget budget budget and get the budget in cash and leave the credit cards at home. (Yeah, I know you’re on vacation and need the plastic and I usually break mine out for at least one purchase.) Third, don’t buy until you’ve made one complete pass through the market. I major fail this one which is why I have to break out the plastic.  The thing that helps me most is to make a list. That helps me focus and cuts down on sensory overload. I do and will slip up but even slip-ups are built into the budget.

For example from the market at SSK, I had several projects that I wanted to make for which I haven’t bought yarn. I reviewed my queue and repurposed some yarn to cover some of these projects. Then I made a list of projects for which I could find suitable yarns at SSK. I’ll be buying 1600 yards of DK weight yarn for Pomme de Pin Cardigan, 1850 yards of fingering weight yarn for Waiting Cardi, about 800 yards of fingering weight yarn for WestKnits KAL: Rockefeller, and Erin Lane Sweater bags. Those items will pretty much use up my budget.

Yesterday (Sunday), I worked on WendyKnits Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl KAL in Dream in Color Starry Absolutely Magenta colorway and beaded with beads from Fusion Beads. I tried nupps but just wasn’t happy with them. At knit night tonight, I heard a couple of suggestions that I’ll remember next time I try nupps.

I worked a bit on the Clemson throw but didn’t make enough progress to warrant a picture.

Tonight at knit night, I worked on the Elizabeth collar.I still have a long way to go.

I’ll spend the rest of the evening working on the blanket. I have homework but may wait till tomorrow to do that. Tomorrow I hope to work on and complete clue 2 of the mystery KAL.

This is my last post until I return from SSK. I’m carrying my Kindle Fire for internet/e-mail access and won’t be able to blog from it. I’ll post pictures and give a report when I return.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

1 Response to “Safe SEX”


  1. 1 Karen Berthine July 2, 2012 at 3:19 am

    Made me grin … and yes, I too, always have an eye for yarn purchases while traveling!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


