Sleepless in South Park

Okay, this is why I don’t start packing until I absolutely must. I get excited and don’t sleep. Nowadays with all the social networks, I need to add no internet into the mix. I’m chatting with my knitting friends–both new and old–and am so excited about SSK that I’m now having trouble sleeping at night. Looking at airport parking information at bedtime didn’t help either.I’m still sleep-knitting in the evenings and afternoons if I get cool enough.

I’ve now finished the center garter ridge section of the Clemson Baby Tweed. I accomplished this by placing it on a small table I have here and sitting right in front of a fan. I debated a bit whether to go ahead and start the border or cast on the Wolfpack blanket. I decided to pick up stitches. I’ve already got Elizabeth and Augusta unfinished objects and just don’t want more. I forgot to take a picture before the pick-up so this picture is after pick-up and first row of border. I’m using 32-inch circular as suggested so seeing what the piece looks like is difficult. I’ll be switching to 40-inch on the next round.

I have decided that I’m not…repeat not…taking either of these on vacation. I’ve decided that vacation knitting should be fun, knit-whatever-the-heck-you-want, me knitting which these aren’t. So the collar of Elizabeth (me knitting), Wingspan (all three requirements) and After Thought Heel socks in Vesper Sock Twitterpated (fun, kwthyw).The socks are the spare project in case we get so rowdy I can’t work Wingspan or I finish the Elizabeth collar.

I also have knitted another row of the WendyKnits Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl KAL. The nupps are slow-going. If I had any beads to match my yarn, I think I would have frogged and placed beads. I’m not very good at making nupps. This is my second piece making them and mine just don’t look pretty. (Yeah, I know they look better after they’re blocked.) I am using the technique that WendyKnits suggested which is better than the technique I used on first project. I’m alternating backwards purling the three loops and turning my work to purl together. Turning the work is better for me.Another problem I had on first project was not catching all the loops on the purl together.Still no picture of this.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

1 Response to “Sleepless in South Park”


  1. 1 Diane June 23, 2012 at 12:13 am

    You know I was dead set on doing nupps and hadn ‘t even entertained the idea of beads. Last night after half a row of nupps, I gave up and today I went bead shopping. My needle is just not pointy enough I guess and I had too hard a time pearling those 5 stitches. Also, mine are not pretty either. Tonight I start to bead for the first time so wish me luck.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


