Things I’ve Learned Lately…

Nobody is going to give me a $1000 gift card for free.Okay I already knew this one but had to be reminded. One day last week I got a “phishing” text message. It stated I’d won a $1000 gift card from a business I frequent so I thought it was from that business and followed the instructions to get my gift card. Yea I was having a weak moment. I figured that, if they asked for credit card or bank info, I’d stop the process. They requested email right off the bat and already had my phone number.I used my regular email (another really weak moment). Soon after that I realized that it was a scam so left the website. IMMEDIATELY my spam filter was full of email. I mean not just penis extender, cheap pharmaceuticals, funeral plans, scooters and assisted living (the last 3  started last year). I had the same ones over and over again for all kinds of stuff. I’m gradually unsubscribing but it’s a major time suck that is interfering with fiber time.I also was getting text spam but figured out how to stop that. Lesson learned…

Don’t buy color sensitive items online.I needed beads for Lalique. I’m making two of these so needed “spring” green beads and lavender beads. The pattern calls for hex beads, and Fusion Beads had size 6 hex beads in what appeared to be a matte finish lavender. They didn’t have any green so I ordered some size 6 rounds that I really wasn’t sure would match but would “blend.” The beads arrived. Those matte finish lavender beads were sparkly purple–deep purple–and not going to work with the yarn I planned to use. Fortunately I had another yarn I’d considered for this piece that will match the beads so I switched. The green beads I was worried about. They were just right. No real harm was done here but a lesson we all need to remember. Lesson learned…

My friend’s perfect dog isn’t perfect.He counter surfs too.Okay I’m no dog-trainer and have made a few mistakes (well, more than a few) with Debit. She’s spoiled, and I know it. I’ve got a whole list of things I’ll do differently next dog. Next dog will be like my friend’s dog that I thought was perfect until she told a counter surfing story. Burst my bubble she did!! The moral of this story is no perfect dogs exist but all dogs will love you no matter what so go ahead and spoil them. Lesson learned…

Things I’ve worked on this weekend…(when I wasn’t cleaning out my spam folder) Moving Mountains Lovie is finished.It is worked in Berroco Comfort and used one ball exactly. I may have a couple of yards left. I used size 8 US needles. I first thought it might be too large but it’s just right.

I worked on front bands of Elizabeth Cardigan. I did some sleep knitting. I’m on row 140 of the Clemson Tweed Baby Blanket  and think that’s last picture you saw. I haven’t worked it since Friday. I will be working on it again as soon as I finish this post.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

2 Responses to “Things I’ve Learned Lately…”


  1. 1 Robin June 17, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    You are too funny! Love the baby blanket and had to go buy the pattern. See you next week!

  2. 2 ginnydreadful June 17, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    I’m pretty sure all of that and Never start a land war in Asia, is all you need to know. 🙂 Miss you guys.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


