It’s pink–definitely pink

I had a request to make a baby hat using Liberty Wool prints to match one of the baby surprise jackets I gifted a few weeks ago. I have plenty of the yarn so answered yes. I’ve been wanting to knit an aviatrix hat so cast on. On the cuff I had a bit of lavender/blue and the whole first half of the hat is pink. This gives a really good picture of how long striping this yarn is in places.You can see in the picture that the outside of the ball is totally blue.  Also I’m not sure that the striping “repeats” in any particular pattern.I’m a little over halfway finished. This project is not a good stop-and-start project due to short row shaping. By that, I mean stopping mid-row is not always a good thing.

I blocked Breaker Saturday and sewed buttons on it and wore it to Gate City Yarns Sunday so my fellow knitters could see it. I ordered buttons which were not exactly the right color. I had some stash buttons that were the right color and were 3/4 inch as suggested by the pattern so I used those. However I found the small buttons were too small. So I took them off and replaced with the not-exactly-right-but-will-do buttons. I’ve always used thread or carpet warp to sew buttons. I’ve tried to use project yarn but the buttons always came off. One of my knitter friends stated she wove in her ends well. DUH! (headslap) I never thought of that. So I am trying project yarn on this.

I’ve started the left front of the Elizabeth but didn’t work as much as planned last night as I was distracted by some things so important that I don’t remember exactly what the distractions were (one thing was the buttons above). I am not…repeat NOT…working in stash again for a while so I should have time to focus on this piece.I have made some progress today and have about 20 rows of left front finished. Picture is of the back.

Last post I mentioned WendyKnits’ Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl Knitalong. My plan was to sign up and get the pattern at a discount. However one of my knitting friends sent a comment that she signed up so we decided to knit along with everybody else. Since my stash is organized, I went stash shopping and “purchased” a skein of Dream in Color Starry in Absolutely Magenta. I also shopped for Through the Loops Mystery Shawl KAL, and “bought” a skein of Plymouth Balby Alpaca Lace for this project.. I will probably multi-task knit when I start the WendyKnits KAL. I may work it on Mondays–the day my friend and I meet up with the rest of the Danville KTog.

I also have to knit a prayer lovie for a new baby. I’ll be casting on a Moving Mountains lovie in Berroco Comfort DK tomorrow. I hope to finish this before I start the Summer Solstice knitalong.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

 

0 Responses to “It’s pink–definitely pink”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


