A Word about Deadlines

Last week one of my knitting friends teased me about my deadlines. Yes, I set deadlines (goals really) for my knitting and pretty much anything else I’m doing. I’m very deadline-oriented so much so that I don’t usually participate in online knitalongs. I stopped this about a year ago when I realized I was stressing over deadlines. Most of my deadlines now are self-imposed and add some fun to my knitting. If I don’t make a deadline, I simply extend it. I do sometimes have a real knitting/weaving deadline. When I make gifts then I have a real deadline. I don’t stress even over those. If I don’t make a deadline, I  go buy a gift which is what I’ll do to replace the gift I was weaving.

I hope to knit prayer throws for the graduating seniors at my church. I didn’t decide to make these in time for them to be ready for graduation. So my goal/deadline is to finish them by August 1 (maybe a bit later) so they can have them to carry to college. So I’m rearranging the queue a bit to accommodate this deadline. I’ll cast on the first one when I finish Elizabeth. Then work Night at Gruene and then work the second one after vacation. I switched Baby Cables and Night at Gruene because the throws are mostly garter ridge and I thought a lace piece might be a relief from all the stockinette and garter ridge I’ve been knitting as of late. Actually Baby Cables will be the Daily Sweater as I don’t have enough yarn.

Yay!!! Breaker is finished…well, off the needles with ends woven and ready to block. I used seven skeins of Verde Collection Sprout and size 7 US needles.  I’m really pleased with this piece.This was a knitalong piece and 2 out of the 3 knitters shortened the piece because they required more yarn than the pattern suggested. So if you knit this, buy an extra. I was concerned that it might be too small as I tend to oversize sweaters. Both the Breaker and Eyelet Cardi had less ease than I normally wear but I like the way they look and fit. So I think that in future I’ll reduce the amount of ease I add in to my sweaters

I’m now back on the Elizabeth Cardigan which I hope to finish in 10 days. I think I can finish the right front in two more days. This one knits a bit faster than the Breaker.

I also warped my loom for another piece and will be spinning and weaving a bit every day.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “A Word about Deadlines”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


