Then you may take me to the fair…

For several years now, I’ve been striving to knit the near-perfect piece to enter in the NC State Fair. During that time, I’ve worked several pieces that would have been good for that purpose but I seem to put in too many design features (aka mistakes)  that, while not visible from the back of a galloping horse, would probably catch the attention of the judges. I’ve decided that Night at Gruene WILL BE my fair entry for 2012. So NO SLEEPKNITTING while working on this piece. I won’t cast on for a few weeks yet. Izzy was in charge of sleepknitting tonight and she’s doing an excellent job.

I finished my stash/queue review this afternoon. I found lots of things I’d forgotten about and found some “mystery” yarn. I have some skeins that didn’t have ball bands. I know the yarn is wool but don’t know brand or colorway name. I also discovered that I’d already queued one pattern and purchased yarn specifically for that pattern. I had re-purposed a skein of Helen’s Lace for this shawl. No problem, I put it with another pattern.

After another day’s consideration, I’ve decided that, some time around mid-July, I will start using a random number generator to determine what’s next. The main reason for this is that the sweater projects were at the top of the queue which is what I’m working now. The rest of the queue has almost no sweaters. This will allow more variation in what I knit. If I decide that I want to knit another project, that will be okay as long as it’s in the queue. (And we all know that I’m not going to add any more projects to the queue, right?)

I worked 4 more rows on the Breaker this afternoon. Again no picture since it looks like it did yesterday. I worked on my weaving project and made good progress on it.

I also worked 12 rows on the Elizabeth Cardigan. Taking a picture was a bit difficult. So I took a picture of the front since I’ve already shown the sleeve. I’d really like to finish the right half of the sweater by Sunday but probably won’t make that goal.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Then you may take me to the fair…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


