I Was Tempted but I Survived

Sunday is knitalong and work day at Gate City Yarns. When one is on a yarn diet and on a stash-busting quest and works at a yarn shop, sometimes resisting temptation is difficult. Most Sundays knitting friends who know about the diet and quest are present and so resisting is a smidge easier.

Yesterday I was pretty much by myself and sitting beside a display of Crystal Palace Moonshine and Party. Now normally I wouldn’t work with either one of those yarns but, once I learned they’re meant to be worked together, have had the urge to knit a simple shawl alternating them. I’m not sure why–maybe I’m going over to the dark side. Neither of these yarns feel good. They’re mostly synthetic. I can buy some nice Smooshy with Cashmere and knit a lacy shawl and bead it for the same price and would be much more likely to wear it, especially since I’m knitting Aase’s Shawl with this yarn for a gift and I’m coveting it.

While I was knitting along with Harry Potter, Hermione, Ron, and Ginny who were present on my Kindle which I was reading while knitting, I’d stop and pick colors then put them back and pick other colors. I pulled up LaLa’s Simple Shawl and figured how many skeins I needed. Picked more colors and put them back. Waited on customers, then got out the first color I had and put it back. Finally four o’clock came and I escaped without buying yarn. Phew!!!!

All this project planning is my one of my excuses for only working three rows of Breaker yesterday. The other excuse is I needed to work on Aase’s Shawl which has a deadline. I was able to work 10 rows of Aase’s Shawl. The pictures will give an idea of the pattern and the beadwork. Once it’s finished and blocked I’ll take a picture so you can see the shape.I’ve been working on this project this afternoon and will finish chart 2 and maybe start the last chart. I’ve weighed my yarn and feel that I should be able to use the full size border through row 28. This means I will have 16 rows and the bind off left so unless I have to visit the frogs I should be on deadline. After finishing chart 2;, I’ll weigh my yarn again and decide then which border to do. If I go with short border. I should be able to finish this project tomorrow.

Because I was sleepknitting Saturday evening, I didn’t finish sleeve one of the Raggi (shop sample) sweater. I did finish it last night during sleepknitting hours (between 10 and midnight). I hope to finish this piece up by Wednesday or Thursday and then Breaker will become the late night/work-in-public piece. I may cast on the sleeve to Elizabeth Cardigan or a pair of Afterthought Heel socks for my waiting knitting. I’m tending toward socks because they’re smaller.No they’re not in the queue but I’ll be using stash yarn (yeah, I know sock yarn doesn’t count as stash).

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

2 Responses to “I Was Tempted but I Survived”


  1. 1 Diane May 15, 2012 at 12:28 am

    We always want what we cannot have! Move away, just move away from the yarn!

    Your shawl doesn’t show up here nearly as pretty as in real life, maybe when finished the colors will pop more in pictures.

    Missed you tonight. Place was crazy busy with kids studying.

    • 2 southparknitter May 15, 2012 at 1:01 am

      Actually the color when knitted is not nearly as pretty as in hank. I’m disappointed in it but the colors will be good for the recipient. The pictures are pretty close but I’ll take final picture outside unless it rains. I wish I could bring it for show and tell but hope to give it to Meryl on Sunday. I missed y’all too. I probably would have been okay but just don’t feel comfortable driving in rain especially at night.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


