Beading Aase’s Shawl

I’ve done a bit of beading on a pair of socks I made. They had snakes on them and I added beads for the eyes. I used dental floss which worked fine. Aase’s Shawl has 275 beads. I bought a crochet hook and dental floss and decided I’d try both techniques. Some folks string the beads on their yarn. I think I tried that once and decided that wasn’t happening. Some folks use beading wire instead of dental floss. After trying a couple of beads with the dental floss, I decided that the crochet hook technique worked better and was faster for me. I had some trouble with splitting the yarn but have now adjusted so that doesn’t happen often. I’ve worked 8 rows of the first chart.I tried to get a close-up of the beads but wasn’t able to zoom in all the way without blurring. Since I’m beading, I’m hoping to work 2 rows an hour. I only worked on Aase’s Shawl about 3 hours today and was able to work 6 rows. I really need to finish this piece Friday so that I can block it Saturday.

I went over to hang out at Gate City Yarns today and am pretty close to finishing the first sleeve on the Raggi pullover. My hope is that I’ll be able to stay awake long enough to finish it so I can start the second one Monday.

Tomorrow is Breaker Knitalong day so I’ll work on that project tomorrow. Once the Raggi sweater is finished I’ll work Breaker as my sleep knitting project.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks. just knits.

0 Responses to “Beading Aase’s Shawl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


