The Snake and the Sleeve

Debit is half beagle and half Jack Russell Terrier. Beagles are scent hounds and Debit is too. When she’s on a scent trail, all her other senses shut down and she’s totally focused on whatever she smells. The terrier genes make her very tenacious–as in I’m-busy-and-whatever-treat-you’re-offering-could-not-possibly-be-as-exciting-as-what-I’m-doing. So sometimes when she’s on a “dig” following a scent, I have to leash her to get her to come inside for me to leave to go somewhere. Yesterday, I went out with a dog cookie to lure her inside so I could go out to dinner. She was on a dig in the azalea bushes. As I started down the steps, she raised her head and began shaking it side-to-side. She had a SNAKE!!!!! The business end of the snake was in her mouth. I’m pretty reverent around snakes so I wasn’t about to approach Debit until she released the snake. Eventually she dropped it and I leashed her and drug her into the house. Fortunately she wasn’t bitten or, at least, had no ill effects.

Now about the knitting…I’ve almost finished sleeve one. The shaping is finished. I tried on the sweater and decided that I need to work about 15 more rows before I begin the 5 rows of ribbing. I’ll probably try it on again after 10 rows. The picture shows bracelet or 3/4 sleeves but, after shaping, I’m well past either of those and have plenty of yarn so I’m going for full length. So sleeve one should be finished Sunday and sleeve two by Wednesday. That will allow me three days for button bands and neck edging.

I’m also multi-tasking a bit. While at Gate City Yarns yesterday, Tina and I decided that I would make a shop sample using Jarbo Raggi. So this afternoon I cast on an Ann Norling Kid’s Top-down Raglan pullover this afternoon while at the shop. This will be the on-the-go work-in-public project. This will work well as I’m to a point in my queue where the projects are yarns we no longer carry in the shop. Since I’m an employee, I try to work with available yarns while at the shop even to hang out.

The WendyKnits Sunrise Socks will hibernate. I think I’d worked total 3 rows.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “The Snake and the Sleeve”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


