A Visit to the Frog Pond

Debit’s all tuckered out. She’s sleepknitting while I’m frogging. This is day 4 at Destination Bolen Baby Surprise Jacket. What I knit today I frogged at midnight. On day 3 I missed a shaping instruction on row 59. I discovered this fail on row 80. I frogged back to row 59 and re-knit. As I knit row 60 I counted the stitches and had too many so I tinked row 60 and row 59. I had an extra increase and about 5 rows back I had an accidental make 1. No, I didn’t frog back. I altered the number of increases on row 59 and knit on or rather will later this afternoon.I will be marking the shaping rows on this pattern either with highlighter or red pen. Barring any more trips to the frog pond I will finish the jacket on Day 6.

One of the surprise things on a baby surprise jacket is the size. I’m never quite sure what size it will be. I’m making these larger than I normally do. In past I’ve used light DK weight and size 5 needles. The last 3 I’ve knit I used size 7 needles and light worsted weight. The chest size is better but they look long. I use an amplified pattern for these and noticed that to change the length you adjust the flap on row 80. So I’m  going to leave off the flap completely on the one I’m making now. If it turns out well, I’m going to re-work the one just finished. My calculation is that this will give a length of about 10-12 inches which is better. Yarn standards gives back waist measurement of babies of between 7 and 9 inches so this will be 3 inches below the waist.

Back to Debit–a friend sent a  message that the bunny wouldn’t hide eggs until last night so Debit may be napping in hopes of catching the bunny. She is after all half beagle and half terrier.

Now let’s see if my “benediction” will work for me. Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “A Visit to the Frog Pond”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


