Augusta Revisited, Day 1

Yes, last post it was gray and a lot bigger. I’ve been concerned about gauge but, after armhole shaping, realized that gauge was too big. I frogged four days worth of knitting and cast on with a smaller needle with the same results. Yes, I swatched before casting on but most of the time my actual gauge is larger than my swatch gauge so I always double check. So I decided to change yarn and use Artesanal for my design cardigan. That way I won’t be working to a specific gauge because the sweater will be designed based on whatever gauge I get. For the Augusta I’m using  Cascade 220 Superwash. At some time, I’m pretty certain that I was going to use this yarn for the Augusta. For some reason I changed my mind. The gauge is much better. In fact it may be a bit small but Superwash usually blooms when blocked so that’ll be okay. So the new finish date for this will be February 22.

Detour

I did cast on another prayer throw today. I’m calling this one South Park Throw 2. I’m using Jarbo Duo and size 13 US needles. I cast on 110 stitches and worked about 6 rows of garter stitch. Then switched to stockinette with 5 stitch garter border. I’m going to double wrap every other right side row to make elongated stitches and make the throw more interesting. This one is for a fellow who has leukemia.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Augusta Revisited, Day 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


