Destination TTL Mystery Sock KAL, Day 5

This is being written on day 6. I finished 25 more rows of the leg of sock 2 on day 5. This pattern has bobbles and crossed (1×1 cables) stitches so I can only work about 6 rows in an hour as opposed to my normal 8 to 10. I do cable without cable needle and use this method. I’ve tried several different methods but this one works for me. I haven’t tried it yet with a 3×3 cable but it works well with 2×2. On 1x1s that are both knit I use another technique which involves working both stitches then dropping off the left needle at the same time but the mystery sock involves stitches knit through the back loop and purl stitches. I plan to finish the cuff on day 6. On day 7 I’ll either work the toe of sock 1 so that it’s finished or work the heel flap of sock 2. Usually finishing sock 1 spurs me to finish sock 2 faster. I don’t suffer from dreaded second sock syndrome. My knitting ailment is usually castonitis.

Detour

I also now have 50 rows finished on the South Park throw. I’d planned to start decreases at this point to feel that it needs to be about 5 inches bigger. So I will knit another 20 rows before starting decreases. One of my concerns was being able to get 2 throws from 3 skeins of yarn. Judging from usage so far that will not be a problem.

I’ll be spending the afternoon at Gate City Yarns so will work on my Buttons Cardigan a bit today.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

 

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Destination TTL Mystery Sock KAL, Day 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


