In Transit

Right on schedule I finished my Afterthought Heel Socks in Vesper Sock Far Away colorway. This project used 0.18 miles of yarn.

I’ve known about afterthought heels for several years but thought the technique looked tedious. I liked the way that self-striping yarns looked when this heel was used. The technique was not as tedious as I thought, and this will be my preferred heel treatment when knitting with self-striping or patterning yarns.  Also, the pattern is simple enough that, if I got stranded on a desert island with needles and yarn with no pattern, I could knit socks. Slip stitch heel will still be my preference for other yarns.

Here’s a quick review of what I did. I knit the cuff to desired length and knit heel stitches with waste yarn the knit across the waste yarn stitches with working yarn and continued knitting without changing the number of stitches until toe shaping. After finishing the toe, I picked up the right leg of the stitches below the waste yarn.

Then flipped sock and picked up right leg of stitches above the waste yarn.

Then I removed the waste yarn. I joined more working yarn and followed instructions for heel shaping.

I also sewed buttons on both Bohemes. They’re knit in Berroco Vintage. The buttons are from Gail Hughes Art Buttons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also started working on the South Park Henley again. Since this post is photo-rich, I’ll post pictures of it tomorrow.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “In Transit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


