Stash Expansion Rules and Rulebreakers

Since the object of the quest is to reduce bust stash, I need to have some rules about stash expansion.  Basically, I’m down to one rule.  After completion of every ten queued projects, I can buy yarn or fiber for one project.  I must have a pattern so that the purchase isn’t stash yarn.  Since I work part-time at Gate City Yarns, stash expansion may be a problem  I’m trying to not look at or touch new yarns.  (Yeah how do you not look at or touch yarn when you ring it up or stock it?) I’m maintaining pretty well so far.

Another difficulty I have is that I keep buying patterns and books for which I have no appropriate yarn in my stash.  I’m trying to make a list of projects that need yarn and they’ll be my “reward” enhancements.  First on the list is Gnarled Oak Cardigan.  I’ve got in mind to knit this in Classic Elite Yarns Classic Silk in Maho Bay colorway.

I do have some exceptions rulebreakers–mostly sock which doesn’t count as stash  or laceweight yarns. By rulebreakers, I mean they can be purchased before I’ve finished 10 projects.    They are…

  1. Wollmeise which I buy every chance I get
  2. Dream Club–Dream in Color is one of my favorites
  3. Wooly Wonka’s Shakespeare in Lace shawl and accessory clubs.
  4. Vacation yarn–who doesn’t yarn crawl when on vacation?  Since my vacations are usually fiber fests or knitting retreats, it’s a given.

Till next time…no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Stash Expansion Rules and Rulebreakers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


