KAL-ED OUT

When I got back into knitting, I belonged to a couple of Yahoo KALs (knit-a-longs).  I stopped participating because I wanted to knit other things (like socks).  Or at that’s why I thought I stopped.  The last couple of months I’ve been involved in a couple of KALs and have now realized that, while I enjoy the idea of knitting the same item as others and sharing the things we learn, the deadline aspect of KALs is stressing me.  My jobs are deadline-oriented so having at-home deadlines was becoming too much.  So I’ve decided that I’m KAL-ed out and that I will limit my participation in these in the future.

One of the KALs focused on knitting a KnitSpot pattern.  So I knitted my second pair of Snow on Cedars Mitts using some Misty Mountain Farms unknown yarn in unknown colorway.  I did get to wear these during cold weather last week and really enjoyed them.  The last pair I made need to be darned because the canine member of my “team” bit one of them.

The second KAL is the Loopy Ewe first quarter challenge.  We’re knitting Clapotis.  Mine is from The Loopy Legends Debra’s Celtic Treasures colorway.

While working on these KALs, a couple of things I really want to finish are languishing.  My Daily Sweater and Sudan pencil pouch are resting away.  I plan to awaken them hopefully by the end of next week.

Also on the needles is my Oregon Cardigan by Alice Starmore.  This isn’t far enough along yet for pictures, but the project is going well.  I only work on it on Friday evenings.

Also in the gift knitting department I’m working on a baby sweater from Plymouth Cotton Kisses kit.  This kit comes with yarn, buttons and pattern for either cardigan or pullover.  The yarn is a little splitty but baby sweaters are like socks in that they are completed quickly.

Yes I did cast on a pair of socks.  I’m knitting Wendy D. Johnson’s St. Louis Socks  in Claudia Hand Painted Shells on the Beach.  The socks are my on-the-go project so they’re mostly riding around in my car but I’ve finished the toe.

I’m still weaving with my tri-loom and now giving serious consideration to purchasing a rigid heddle loom–in particular, an Ashford Knitters Loom.  I will be taking a class in rigid heddle weaving later this month.

Meanwhile happy knitting to my knitting friends and grace and peace to all.

1 Response to “KAL-ED OUT”


  1. 1 Robin March 10, 2009 at 2:07 am

    MAN OH MAN! Has it been that long since I caught up on your blog!?! Look at all the finished items!!! LOVE that shawl and the baby stuff. WOW!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


