Perfect Body + Perfect Gauge = Perfect Sweater

To paraphrase one of the podcasters I follow (who was paraphrasing Amy Herzog): when you buy something off the rack or a pattern for a garment, it says your body is wrong. When you custom design your own based on your measures, it says your body is perfect. (Personally I think I have the perfect body…just a bit fluffy is all) When I “design” a sweater I work from my measures. I also work from my gauge. I’ve posted recently about designing sweaters that have features that I like, and another part of this is that I get a finished piece worked to my gauge and to my body measures so I don’t get surprised by a garment that doesn’t fit like I thought it would. Gate City Yarns, my LYS, has invested in Amy Herzog’s program , Custom Fit, that allows us to put in our body measurements, our gauge and the design features we want and get a pattern that fits out body and gauge. While I haven’t yet used it, those who have commented about how good it is to be able to work to personal gauge and measurements get a garment that fits just right. While you can access the program onlinee, I highly recommend finding a yarn shop that subscribes and can help you with the measuring/swatching process. Gate City Yarns is planning to have a workshop built around this program so watch the website for details. Even without workshop attendance, the staff there is ready to help with measuring and pattern “designing.”  If you’re not in the Greensboro, NC area, find a shop nearby. My plan is to use the Classic Elite Majestic Tweed that I’ve swatched and repurposed several times with the program to make a barn/chore coat style sweater after Christmas. So stay tuned…

That being said, I swatched and double checked gauge on my just (k)nits for fun, Shaken or Stirred, and am a bit disappointed that I don’t have nearly the ease that I’d planned (4 inches). I’m hopeful that once the button bands are added and the piece is blocked that I’ll have more ease. I think this is more a function of my poor choice of “standard” size.I’m between two sizes and went with the smaller as I thought the next size up would have too much ease. I’m using Quince and Co Chickadee in Frost, Crocus and Delft on US size 3 qnd 4 needles. 2014-08-08 08.48.51 As you can see I’ve one more sleeve and button bands to go. I’m not a fan of shawl collars (no neck). Next time I’ll make a larger size and I do plan to knit this pattern again in Liberty Wool Lite solid and print for the striping.

I’ve decided to cast on just (k)nits for others Gothic Lace Cowl using US size 7 needles and Cascade Tangier. This is a thank-you gift (maybe). I’m throwing caution to the wind and omitting the swatch process. It’s as relatively small piece and, as I do with socks, I figure I can knit a good bit in the time it takes to swatch. If I don’t like it, I’ll frog and start over. This will be my “afternoon” project while I finish the sweater and socks.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

 

1 Response to “Perfect Body + Perfect Gauge = Perfect Sweater”


  1. 1 Missy's Crafty Mess August 8, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    That’s a beautiful sweater. Can’t wait to see it completed. I need to try designing my own sweaters.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2014

Maggie the Mama Owl 1
Fractional Fish
Maggie the Mama Owl 2
Maggie the Mama Owl 3
Little Luchador
Basic Biscuit Body
Maggie the Mama Owl 4
Not-big Guinea Pig
Maggie the Mama Owl 5
Half-sized Hippo
Pithy Platypus
12 Stripes of Christmas socks
Undersized Unicorn
Mr Bluejeans (sweater 1)
Basic Stitchy Body
Dinky Doggy
Basic Peanut Body
Bantam Bunny
Lil Love Slug
Backpack buddy 1
Bitty Bee
Maggie the Mama Owl #6
Bitsy Bot
Cutie Cactus
Maggie the Mama Owl #7
Cutie Cactus
Junior Jackalope
Itty Bitty Batty
Maggie the Mama Owl #8
Basic Bowling Pin Body
Small-Peanuts Elephant
Cutie Cactus 2
Flyspeck Fox
Camo Coon
Backpack buddy 2
Maggie the Mama Owl #9
Compact Cat in PJs
Meager Mouse
Small Squirrel
Micro Monkey
Maggie the Mama Owl #10
Russian Socks
Backpack Buddy 3
Maggie the Mama Owl #11
Entrechat
Grenadine
Jailbait Cardigan
South Park LIndsay
TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014
Brickless
Backpack Buddies 30 in all
Gothic Lace Cowl
Zuzu's Petals in Tangiers
Zuzu's Petals in Rios
Shaken or Stirred
Luna the Unicorn
Bertie B the Owl Puff
Sidewalk Socks
February Lady Sweater
WendyKnits Summer Mystery Shawl 2014
Collister
Calycanthus
Not quite to Tennesee socks
Purple leftover mitts
Patch
Abby's Leftover Mitts
Mystik Spiral Socks
Magrathea
Leftover Turkey
Southpark Luv4Muv
Teeter Totter Reindeer
Ellen Cardigan

Just (k)nits for others

Fish Hat (Dead or Alive?) on US size 6 needles using Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted and other yarns.

Just (k)nits in the zone

Exploration Station on US size 5 needles in Dream in Color Everlasting Sock in Tart. Damp Pillow, Deep Regret and Elysian

Just sleep(k)nits to go

Kirsten Kapur's Fingerless mitts recipe on US size 4 needles in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feathers
South Park Luv4muv on US size 7 needles in Quince & Co Lark Chanterelle colorway
Christmas Socks on US size 1 needles in Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso Zombody's been kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits casting on


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

