In the long rows

Most of the time when folks around here talk about being almost finished with something, they say they’re in the short rows. This saying isn’t referring to knitting short rows but goes back to a time when farmers planted crops diagonally across the field so being in the short rows of corn, cotton, tobacco, wheat or whatever would mean they were almost finished with the field. In (k)nitting that is not always the case. My just (k)nits bound off this week is an example of this. Brickless2014-07-11 07.49.17 starts out with five stitches and grows to about 150 stitches so when I got close to the end of the project I was happy to be in the long rows. My Brickless 2014-07-11 07.49.10is in Miss Babs Yowza in the Zombie Prom colorway using US size 6 needles. It was a fun quick knit and the pattern well written. I have at least one sweater quantity of this yarn and having worked with it am now concerned about how well it will hold up to multiple years of wear and washing.It is a lightweight worsted and soft–yes I do want my wool soft but this is not a “positive” type soft.Others who use this yarn love it but it doesn’t meet my yarn preferences for sweaters. This yarn is similar in price to Malabrigo Rios and for my yarn buck the Rios has more bang. I’ll use the Yowza I have but doubt I’ll buy more for sweaters.

My just (k)nits for others is a secret project that also started with a few stitches and now has 1000+ stitches. This is a group project which I’m finishing and again I’m in the long rows and will be happy to get to the end of this “field” but will have another “field” just like it next week. Hopefully after the recipients have these, I will post pictures.2014-07-11 07.49.41

I swatched for Shaken or Stirred and will be using US size 3 needles. The plan is to just (k)nits cast on on July 12 or maybe before then. Until then I”ll be in the long rows on the secret knit and working on Sidewalk Socks which are a just (k)nits for fun project that have been (k)nitnapping while I worked on backpack buddies. 2014-07-11 07.50.38The socks are Gale’s Art Wonder Sock in Graffiti and Asphalt colorway. I have to confess here that up until about 30 minutes ago. I was still debating when to just (k)nits cast on the Shaken or Stirred. I have a friend who cast on February Lady Sweater this week and was tempted to buddy knit with her. Also I’m participating in the Knitgirllls Stash Dash 2014 and was thinking that I could finish February Lady Sweater in time to count the yardage. After looking at my total yardage so far, I have decided that is unlikely so I’ll stick with the queue and just (k)nit on.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “In the long rows”


  1. 1 Mary Hess July 11, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Like Brickless……wonder if I could do it with 1 skein of Asphalt? What heel are using for the wonder sox……love how the colors flow!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2014

Maggie the Mama Owl 1
Fractional Fish
Maggie the Mama Owl 2
Maggie the Mama Owl 3
Little Luchador
Basic Biscuit Body
Maggie the Mama Owl 4
Not-big Guinea Pig
Maggie the Mama Owl 5
Half-sized Hippo
Pithy Platypus
12 Stripes of Christmas socks
Undersized Unicorn
Mr Bluejeans (sweater 1)
Basic Stitchy Body
Dinky Doggy
Basic Peanut Body
Bantam Bunny
Lil Love Slug
Backpack buddy 1
Bitty Bee
Maggie the Mama Owl #6
Bitsy Bot
Cutie Cactus
Maggie the Mama Owl #7
Cutie Cactus
Junior Jackalope
Itty Bitty Batty
Maggie the Mama Owl #8
Basic Bowling Pin Body
Small-Peanuts Elephant
Cutie Cactus 2
Flyspeck Fox
Camo Coon
Backpack buddy 2
Maggie the Mama Owl #9
Compact Cat in PJs
Meager Mouse
Small Squirrel
Micro Monkey
Maggie the Mama Owl #10
Russian Socks
Backpack Buddy 3
Maggie the Mama Owl #11
Entrechat
Grenadine
Jailbait Cardigan
South Park LIndsay
TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014
Brickless
Backpack Buddies 30 in all
Gothic Lace Cowl
Zuzu's Petals in Tangiers
Zuzu's Petals in Rios
Shaken or Stirred
Luna the Unicorn
Bertie B the Owl Puff
Sidewalk Socks
February Lady Sweater
WendyKnits Summer Mystery Shawl 2014
Collister
Calycanthus
Not quite to Tennesee socks
Purple leftover mitts
Patch
Abby's Leftover Mitts
Mystik Spiral Socks
Magrathea
Leftover Turkey
Southpark Luv4Muv
Teeter Totter Reindeer
Ellen Cardigan

Just (k)nits for others

Fish Hat (Dead or Alive?) on US size 6 needles using Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted and other yarns.

Just (k)nits in the zone

Exploration Station on US size 5 needles in Dream in Color Everlasting Sock in Tart. Damp Pillow, Deep Regret and Elysian

Just sleep(k)nits to go

Kirsten Kapur's Fingerless mitts recipe on US size 4 needles in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feathers
South Park Luv4muv on US size 7 needles in Quince & Co Lark Chanterelle colorway
Christmas Socks on US size 1 needles in Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso Zombody's been kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits casting on


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

