Shake shake shake

As a result of my stash dive/knit plan re-organization I’m still shaking things in Just (k)nits casting on. The sweater queue has been totally changed.I’ve decided that, before I design a top-down sweater with cable panels, I probably should try a stockinette one. So I’ve moved South Park Burrows which will be a lace-weight top down “jacket” with seed or garter stitch edging using GnomeAcres The Burrows colorway into the 2014 queue. I’ve also moved the February Lady Sweater and Mr Greenjeans forward in the queue. The yarns for these was originally intended for other projects that I decided I wouldn’t wear. Since FLS and Mr Greenjeans are my two go-to sweaters, new ones are needed. FLS will me knit from CascadeĀ  220 red colorway and Mr Greenjeans in Quince & Co Lark in Chanterelle colorway. I hope to alternate sweaters and scarf/shawl projects till year’s end but this will depend on sweater knitting speed. Just (k)nits casting on next is Shaken or Stirred in Quince and Co Chickadee using Frost as the main color which I hope to swatch over the holiday weekend.

Also some shaking in just (k)nits bound off, I bound off South Park Lindsay2014-06-28 11.22.11 and TTL Mystery Shawl KAL. Lindsay is from Quince and Co Chickadee in Belize colorway using US size 3 and 5 needles for the “flat” knitting and US size 4 and 6 for the in-the-round knitting. I’m very pleased with the way this turned out. I’m obviously quite addicted to this yarn which has a very soft hand which I’ve not found in other made and/or grown in the USA yarns. If Gate City Yarns doesn’t have yarn to suit me, then my second choice for “workhorse” yarns is Quince & Co.

TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014 used a crocheted bind off which was new to me and is a block away from being finished. I used US size 6 needles and Black Trillium Pebble Sock Smoke gradient. I’m pleased with the outcome. I found knitting it to be a bit of a challenge because each lace row was different and the wrong side rows involved pattern work also so no “resting” purl rows. It’s not a piece I’d knit if I had distractions.2014-07-03 08.16.42

I have a new just (k)nits for fun piece, Brickless. I’m using US size 6 needles and Miss Babs Yowza light worsted in Zombie Prom colorway. I’m enjoying this knit which is an easily remembered pattern so good TV-watching knitting…or so I thought until Tuesday night when I realized the stitch count was off 2 stitches and frogged almost a full pattern repeat trying to find it. Since I couldn’t find it sitting in my recliner, I’m pretty sure it won’t be seen from the back of a galloping horse so I’ve adjusted and am moving forward.2014-07-03 08.14.46

I took a short break from just (k)nits for others but am now working owl puffs again.I did a bit of shaking here too. The backpack buddies are for the schoolkids at my church. I originally planned to make Basic Unibodies, Kitty Beans and Owl Puffs. I was concerned that having three choices might be problematic at “distribution” time so have decided to make Kitty Beans and Owl Puffs which I can finish before the mid-August deadline easily. The Unibodies will be given to some non-church kids. The next couple of weeks I will be working on a secret just (k)nits for others project but will give as much progress update as I can.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks,just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Shake shake shake”


  1. 1 Mary Hess July 3, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    I just love love love the South Park Lindsay! Would like to make a straight shoulder wrap shawl with that pattern design…..can you point me to it so I can adapt it for that kind of project? Wraps and shawls get LOTS of use here with weather variables …..even in our so-called summer which hasn’t fully decided to settle in! Sometimes AC is too cold and shawls are popular in the dining room.

    Hoooooray……you are almost clocked in for your holiday pj weekend!!!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2014

Maggie the Mama Owl 1
Fractional Fish
Maggie the Mama Owl 2
Maggie the Mama Owl 3
Little Luchador
Basic Biscuit Body
Maggie the Mama Owl 4
Not-big Guinea Pig
Maggie the Mama Owl 5
Half-sized Hippo
Pithy Platypus
12 Stripes of Christmas socks
Undersized Unicorn
Mr Bluejeans (sweater 1)
Basic Stitchy Body
Dinky Doggy
Basic Peanut Body
Bantam Bunny
Lil Love Slug
Backpack buddy 1
Bitty Bee
Maggie the Mama Owl #6
Bitsy Bot
Cutie Cactus
Maggie the Mama Owl #7
Cutie Cactus
Junior Jackalope
Itty Bitty Batty
Maggie the Mama Owl #8
Basic Bowling Pin Body
Small-Peanuts Elephant
Cutie Cactus 2
Flyspeck Fox
Camo Coon
Backpack buddy 2
Maggie the Mama Owl #9
Compact Cat in PJs
Meager Mouse
Small Squirrel
Micro Monkey
Maggie the Mama Owl #10
Russian Socks
Backpack Buddy 3
Maggie the Mama Owl #11
Entrechat
Grenadine
Jailbait Cardigan
South Park LIndsay
TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014
Brickless
Backpack Buddies 30 in all
Gothic Lace Cowl
Zuzu's Petals in Tangiers
Zuzu's Petals in Rios
Shaken or Stirred
Luna the Unicorn
Bertie B the Owl Puff
Sidewalk Socks
February Lady Sweater
WendyKnits Summer Mystery Shawl 2014
Collister

Just (k)nits for others

Not quite to Tennessee socks on US size 0in Desert Vista Dyeworks The Guitars of SSK colorway

Just (k)nits for fun

Calycanthus on US size 3 needles using Wooly Wonka Electra in Tarnished colorway

Just sleep(k)nits to go

Kirsten Kapur's Fingerless mitts recipe on US size 4 needles in Dream in Color Everlasting DK Amethyst

Just (k)nits casting on

Lil Punkin (Patch)
Nefertem
South Park Luv4Muv
Safety scarf
South Park Burrows
Leftie
South Park Yuki
Curiouser and curiouser
Merging Cables Cardigan
WendyKnits mystery shawl 2013
Frances the Sock Wearing Fox
Mary, Millie and Morgan
Topsy Turvy Toys


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

