Detour to the frog pond already

No I haven’t cast on yet but the start of the quest has been delayed due to a detour to the frog pond and do-overs on the twins’ sweaters.

The last 3 years I’ve knitted sweaters for 3 children as gifts–twin girls who are friends and my great-nephew.

The first year I had to frog and add 2 inches of length to the girls’ sweaters and had to knit my great-nephew’s sweater 3 times.

The second year I waited till November 1 to start and the girls’ sweaters took longer to knit than estimated so my nephew got no sweater.

This year I measured the girls and, on October 15, I swatched.  I’d picked a pattern but couldn’t get gauge with the yarn I’d selected and really wasn’t happy with the fabric.  I selected another pattern and found that I’d deleted measurements and measured again.  I added 4 inches of ease and thought that would be enough.  I finished knitting the first sweater and wanted to try it on before starting the second.  So I made my great-nephew’s sweater until able to try on the twins’ sweater.

Earlier this week I cast on the second sweater because I felt the only problem might be length. NOT!!! The sweater is too small!!!  Also I made the largest size in the pattern selected.  So I’m frogging sweater 2.  I hope that I have enough yarn to make the sweaters without having to frog the completed sweater which will fit another little girl who’s a friend.

When I finish this post, I will cast on Boheme.  The picture shows a toddler sweater but girls’ sizing has been added to the pattern.  I’d better get busy knitting.

No frogs, no tinks, just knits.

 

0 Responses to “Detour to the frog pond already”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2014

Maggie the Mama Owl 1
Fractional Fish
Maggie the Mama Owl 2
Maggie the Mama Owl 3
Little Luchador
Basic Biscuit Body
Maggie the Mama Owl 4
Not-big Guinea Pig
Maggie the Mama Owl 5
Half-sized Hippo
Pithy Platypus
12 Stripes of Christmas socks
Undersized Unicorn
Mr Bluejeans (sweater 1)
Basic Stitchy Body
Dinky Doggy
Basic Peanut Body
Bantam Bunny
Lil Love Slug
Backpack buddy 1
Bitty Bee
Maggie the Mama Owl #6
Bitsy Bot
Cutie Cactus
Maggie the Mama Owl #7
Cutie Cactus
Junior Jackalope
Itty Bitty Batty
Maggie the Mama Owl #8
Basic Bowling Pin Body
Small-Peanuts Elephant
Cutie Cactus 2
Flyspeck Fox
Camo Coon
Backpack buddy 2
Maggie the Mama Owl #9
Compact Cat in PJs
Meager Mouse
Small Squirrel
Micro Monkey

Just (k)nits for others

Maggie the Mama Owl 10 on US size 5 needles using Malabrigo Rios Jupiter Backpack buddies

Just (k)nits for fun

Guinevere Socks on US size 1 needles in Wooly Wonka Electra Sock in Tarnished
Russian socks on US size 0 in Fireweed Dyeworks Russian Fairytale
Jailbait sweater on US size 2 and 4 in Berroco Linsey
Grenadine on US size 5 in Quince & Co Chickadee Pomegranate

Just (k)nits casting on

Maggie the Mama Owl #10
Frances the Sock Wearing Fox
Topsy Turvy Toys
Caffe Machiatto Socks
Knit 12 sweaters in 2014--1 down 11 to go


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

