Sockknitting Addict’s Lament

Okay I admit it.  I’m addicted to sock knitting.  For the last 4 weeks, I’ve been working on other projects and dangling casting on a  new pair of socks like a carrot.  I’ve finally finished my All-over Faroese Shawl by Heartstrings.

Now I’m working on my Daily Sweater in hopes of finishing it soon.  I took it to Danville knit night to work on it only to discover that I’d removed the tips to work another project and hadn’t re-attached them.  So I worked on my Snow on Cedars Mitts instead.  This is a KAL project that should be finished by February 28.

I finished my February Baby Sweater and plan to make booties and hat to match.  I have several other baby sweaters to make.

Sunday afternoon was my guild meeting.  The program was on looms and weaving.  We knitters lined up and worked our pieces and then one of the members came in with some shawls she’d woven on a triangle loom.  The knitting was thrown aside.  When I got home, I ordered a 3-foot one.  This will be a great way to use some of my handspun.  (Although Izzy thinks that cakes of handspun make great cat toys, she collapsed a cake of my Creatively Dyed sea wool handspun in about 4 piles on the work table.  I think I can get it back together with my niddy noddy. )  I’m anxiously awaiting my loom’s arrival.  Saturday I’ll be going to Rising Meadows farm for shearing day so probably won’t weave until next week.  I hope a co-worker can build me a larger one.  I also plan to buy an inkle loom.  I’ve been really good about working/finishing my other projects.

Next up on the needles is my clapotis in Loopy Legends Debra’s Celtic Treasures.

And maybe, just maybe this weekend I can cast on a new pair of socks before I go into complete sockknitting withdrawal.

Happy knitting to my knitting friends and grace and peace to all.

6 Responses to “Sockknitting Addict’s Lament”


  1. 1 Monica February 11, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Everything is beautiful. I am going to have to get that shawl pattern, I love it.

  2. 3 Diane February 12, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Timmie,

    I love the shawl. You must bring it Monday night so we can admire! I also love the baby sweater – I need to start some baby gifts and that gives me inspiration.

    • 4 katzendog February 12, 2009 at 4:03 am

      I already sent the shawl to its recipient. I love knitting baby sweaters because they don’t take very long to make. I’m going to make booties like Robin’s to match this and gonna play with gull lace to make a hat.

  3. 5 fireflynights February 17, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Socks are highly overrated. Your other projects definitely outshine even the best pair of socks. LOVE the shawl!

    What’s that you’re using for a blocking board? I keep wanting to order something but they all seem too small and your setup looks big.

    • 6 katzendog February 17, 2009 at 2:58 pm

      Thanks. Blocking board is EVA foam floor mat as used in playschools and gyms and same stuff that ones from cocoknits are made of. Got it online from place called Get Rung. I got 1st quality but can get seconds for less. I noticed that Sam’s Club in Danville had similar stuff for good price. I like knitting socks I think because I seem to finish them faster. Like to knit baby sweaters for sam reason.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2014

Maggie the Mama Owl 1
Fractional Fish
Maggie the Mama Owl 2
Maggie the Mama Owl 3
Little Luchador
Basic Biscuit Body
Maggie the Mama Owl 4
Not-big Guinea Pig
Maggie the Mama Owl 5
Half-sized Hippo
Pithy Platypus
12 Stripes of Christmas socks
Undersized Unicorn
Mr Bluejeans (sweater 1)
Basic Stitchy Body
Dinky Doggy
Basic Peanut Body
Bantam Bunny
Lil Love Slug
Backpack buddy 1
Bitty Bee
Maggie the Mama Owl #6
Bitsy Bot
Cutie Cactus
Maggie the Mama Owl #7
Cutie Cactus
Junior Jackalope
Itty Bitty Batty
Maggie the Mama Owl #8
Basic Bowling Pin Body
Small-Peanuts Elephant
Cutie Cactus 2
Flyspeck Fox
Camo Coon
Backpack buddy 2
Maggie the Mama Owl #9
Compact Cat in PJs
Meager Mouse
Small Squirrel
Micro Monkey
Maggie the Mama Owl #10
Russian Socks
Backpack Buddy 3
Maggie the Mama Owl #11
Entrechat
Grenadine
Jailbait Cardigan
South Park LIndsay
TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014
Brickless
Backpack Buddies 30 in all
Gothic Lace Cowl
Zuzu's Petals in Tangiers
Zuzu's Petals in Rios
Shaken or Stirred
Luna the Unicorn
Bertie B the Owl Puff
Sidewalk Socks
February Lady Sweater
WendyKnits Summer Mystery Shawl 2014
Collister
Calycanthus
Not quite to Tennesee socks
Purple leftover mitts
Patch
Abby's Leftover Mitts
Mystik Spiral Socks

Just (k)nits for others

Leftover Turkey using US size 5 needles and scraps of GnomeAcres and Cascade 220

Just (k)nits in the zone

Magrathea on 3.0 mm needles using Knitosophy in Superhero

Just sleep(k)nits to go

Kirsten Kapur's Fingerless mitts recipe on US size 4 needles in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feathers
South Park Luv4muv on US size 7 needles in Quince & Co Lark Chanterelle colorway
Christmas Socks on US size 1 needles in Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso Zombody's been kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits casting on


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

